We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll think you're in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Honore Bakery

St Honore Bakery
Ranked #4 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You'll think you're in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wasn't it just the other day that SE Division St. in Portland was a dowdy, down-at-heels strip with a couple of coffee shops and an "adult" theater? Time to wake up and smell the coffee - literally. The street abounds with fine restaurants, bars, coffee roasters/shops and at least two outstanding bakeries. And one of those is the wonderful Saint Honore.

The croissants are to die for. You won't find a better one anywhere. All of the pastries are first rate. My personal favorite is the raisin bun that comes in a small or regular sized portion. All the food is excellent and it's a great drop-in spot for a steaming bowl of soup with bread at lunch or a delicious sandwich. Drop in at the end of the work day for perhaps a focaccia strewn with veggies and cheese, and a glass of wine.

The ambience is low key and friendly and the artisan breads are as delicious as they look. Saint Honore is also a terrific place to meet a friends for afternoon tea or coffee, when the lunch crowd has gone and before the supper people arrive. Give it a try and you'll soon be a regular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    99
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“European feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Loved the chance to buy straight from the bakery since I live in south central Missouri and have to drive MILES for chances like this. Service was good and pastries were very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plgetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff needs to smile more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love the bakery and it is as close to Paris as I can get to in Portland. I never seem to get a warm greeting or smile from the staff, which is too bad because I got better service in Paris - believe it or not! Otherwise, this place would be a five star all the way!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waiyeehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The place was packed full of people on a Saturday morning. You have to really fight for a spot for two. Their desserts are beautiful and delicious! It's a must try place in Portland. Next time, I'll get a box of deliciousness and enjoy them in a park on a warm summer day like a Parisian would.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Love this area and this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We are from out of state and an architect friend introduced us to the NW District and 23d years ago. In a town of great neighborhoods this one is very good.

I formerly worked in an artisanal bakery and my standards are high in this area. This place does it and we return every time we are in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Honore Bakery also viewed

 

Been to St Honore Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing