We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Heathman Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Heathman Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Salmon
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The bartenders there really care that you enjoy your experience. Anyone can pour liqud nto a glass, most can then put that glass in front of you, but at the Heathman, that is just the beginning.

Give it a try

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    127
    48
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“Breakfast at Heathman”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great service, and knowledgeable staff. Salmon was fresh and local, delicious. Prices incredibly reasonable for the quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable Opulence”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After 24 hours straight of eating in airplanes and airports, my first meal in Portland was at the Heathman, and it was the perfect meal to kick-start my taste buds and palate! This is the way restaurants in the US used to be, and should be, but it is a dying breed: Opulent dinning room but comfortable to stay for hours, professional/knowledgeable service and still able to join in joking around, and food that is just enough over-the-top to enjoy without having to be so self-conscious that you're afraid you will be arrested if you use the wrong fork for your salad.

As for the food itself....one pleasant accidental surprise and one shocker: The accident was the muse (Oregon Bay shrimp with potato puree and scallions) combined with one of their cocktails called the "TLC"....the combo tasted like a re-constructed of a fresh Thai spring-roll, delicious! The shocker was the Porcini mushrooms in the risotto. They tasted like the foie-gras I had as an app! They must have roasted them in goose-fat! I still dream about those...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeerBackwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Palm Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth trying”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I were up in Portland for a convention and had a free night for dinner. We looked on line and the Heathman restaurant looked like a nice place to go. Last time we were in Portland we went with friends to Andina French restaurant and it was great but we wanted to try something different this trip.
When we arrived we were greeted in a few minutes cordially but not very friendly as my wife and I are.
The restaurant was not overly busy but somewhat. The salad was mushy and the dressing was so salty that we could not eat it. When are main entrees came the vegetables were frozen and under cooked not al dente. The meat was dry and overcooked and the sauce tasted like it was made from a base mix and not from real stock, cream and butter. It seemed they were trying to be a high-end French restaurant but nothing like anything you would get anywhere in France. The service was the furthest thing away from French service that could be; it was horrible. The manager came by and asked how everything was and we just said fine because she reeked of cigarette smoke and we just wanted her to go away. We then left and never plan to go there again. If this restaurant really wants to have a French menu then they need to hire a chef and staff that have French service and cooking experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brakebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a special meal for family reunion, food was very good. My first course of foie gras was big, came with tost and (too) small bit of prune for contrast. Duo of duck breast and confit which was very good, one other person had superb pork, and another had very nicely done breaded white fish. I was only one drinking so got a glass of Oregon pinot which was very disappointing, one dimensional without much life, had hoped for more complex and subtle wine to be offered by the glass. Setting is nice but nothing special, front room of a hotel. Prices were on a par with most good West Coast restaurants these days, mid 20-s-low 30's for entree.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heathman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing