We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar to grab a cocktail before or after dinner”
Review of Heathman Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Heathman Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Salmon
Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice bar to grab a cocktail before or after dinner”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The bar at the Heathman provides good service and a nice selection of specialty beverages on the bar menu. You can order a drink either in the bar or the salon and enjoy your cocktail while warming up next to the beautiful fireplace. A really nice way to end your evening if you are staying at the hotel or nearby.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kandjOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    127
    48
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of suits”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Heathman Hotel and had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. Food was excellent, service excellent and friendly, atmosphere wonderful. Sit by the window if possible and people watch. Must be a good place for business breakfasts and lunches, too, because there were many groups of people wearing business attire -- and in my experience, business people know the good places to eat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant with an ugly attitude”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was recently on a business trip to Portland. We took several of our members to the Heathman Restaurant for a business lunch. The restaurant looked half empty to me, but the host rudely commented that they just did not have room for us. Thankfully the other hostess overheard and offered to pull together some tables in the bar (which was perfect.) The meal was a total fiasco! There was a major soup confusion, that of Saturday Night Live proportions, and two of us FINALLY ended up with the soup we wanted a free bowl that they tried to make us eat instead of the soup we ordered. One coworker ordered a caeser salad that would make Caeser cry....ugly, neon yellow lettuce with a few sprinkles of parmesean. I almost think they were punishing us for daring to visit their restaurant for lunch. On a positive note, my soup was very good, sandwiches were good, and our poor waiter tried his very best with bad management and host staff. Skip the restaurant and grab a hot chocolate in their lobby instead!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blahblahlovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Poor Service”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The wait for our entrees was interminable and the wait after we'd eaten was far too long.

The food was fine but the slow service spoiled the evening for us.

Helpful?
Thank adavey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The ambiance is wonderful and the food is dependably good and good value, depending on what you order.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank reinaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heathman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing