We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and service”
Review of Heathman Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Heathman Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Salmon
Gold Beach, OR
Level Contributor
169 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For the prices they charge I was very disappointed with our meal. We had a pear appetizer, which was so small we had one little bite each. We shared a salad of pear and apple and it was adequate. I had duck for my entree and with a serrated knife couldn't cut a good portion of it. I had half my plate with unedible duck and fat which went to the garbage. Our waiter was friendly when he had time for us but seemed to disappear for long periods. It was busy but when paying those prices you should have the full attention of your server. We aren't demanding people but we were very disappointed in our dining experience. I don't think we will be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    127
    48
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not woth it.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Food was mediocre at best (canned crab, avocado that was identical to Costco guacamole), yet expensive. Service was slow and indifferent. A disappointimg evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pazduha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
“Audacious and pricy!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrived for our birthday celebration 15 minutes early, but were seated 15 minutes after our reservation. Overall, the service was good. However, the food was extremely disappointing.

For whatever reason, I had a throat burning, eye watering reaction to the $11 Caesar salad. This was odd because the entire salad consisted of 10 or so slender inner sprigs of Romaine dusted with a small amount of dressing, and 6 extremely hard croutons that I thought I'd lose a filling trying to eat. Thankfully, they took the salad off my bill.

For the entrée, I had the bouillabaisse, what little there was of it in the bowl; 8 tiny clams, 6 small mussels, a couple of 1" squares of fish, and three very overcooked jumbo shrimp, served in about 1/2 a cup of mediocre broth, .....for $26! OUCH!

The 'house wine' the waiter recommended to match the entree was okay, but there was barely 2 oz in the glass, which was far less than the half a glass many of the other posters received, ....yet they charged $11 for it! $11 for a small splash house wine?



But a final note to the wise:

READ THE CHECK BEFORE YOU SIGN IT! THE PRICE INCLUDES AN 18% TIP!!!!

The blank tip line is for anything you want to give them over what they have already included!

Big prices, small portions, poor cooking techniques, and the automatic assumption of me giving them a full TIP, is a little too audacious for this palette, ...and this wallet. I live in northern WA, so I doubt I'll ever make it back there. But IF I lived close by, I would not be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of Portland's best”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is really good upscale dining. The food is fabulous, the service is impeccable, the ambience is really lovely. After dinner, wander into the Tea Room (great for full-on High Tea during the Christmas season, when it's beautifully decorated) for some after-dinner quiet jazz. It's also located in one of Portland's best hotels, if you're from out of town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginia1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very Good restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We eat here a lot, it's one of the best in town, we live here. A nice atmosphere with excellent service, Enough said.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Worldtreader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heathman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing