We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Lemongrass!!”

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant
Ranked #678 of 4,940 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

We have been going to lemongrass for at least 10 to 15 years. Every time we go, we have consistent, excellent food. The garlic basil fish is so tasty and amazing I have not been able to make anything remotely close. They have a great peanut chicken, and my kids absolutely love their Pad Thai.
When they have salad rolls they are a must get ! They are amazing also!! The owner Chef always comes out to say hello and is very nice !! So glad to have this neighborhood restaurant!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Trokpie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018

The first thing you notice when you walk in the door is a bad smell, like animal urine (several other reviewers note this). Okay--it's a cool old house, let that slide. Then you sit down: the place is so dirty it's shocking. The walls next to the tables have food specks all over them, the lantern in the main room has cob webs all over it and dust an inch thick. The curtains also have food on them and clearly haven't been washed in years. The dishes and glasses look greasy (other reviewers have noted this, too). The bathroom has a lot of cleaning products on the windowsill but it's unclear if anyone is using them. The food was delicious, but I'm surprised the health department hasn't cited them. I'd hate to see the kitchen. Folks -- seriously -- clean this place! Dust, vacuum, wash the tables down, wash the dishes. And figure out that urine smell and clean it

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This is probably the Most spicy food. If you LOVE spicy Food this is the place.
We really enjoyed the food.
Definitely recommend,

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

In Portland for work, a group of us decided to grab Lemongrass for lunch. It was the best decision we made the whole week.
Greeted at the front door of an old, beautiful house by one of the two employees, our experience began. We knew we were in for a special meal when Shelley, the owner, came out of the old kitchen to meet and greet us. She then made the most spectacular Thai food I’ve ever eaten. The Pad Thai is second to none. The spicy fried rice with chicken was out of this world and the prawns were amazing too.

That was day one. The second day we decided to go back. Shelley was nice enough to cook us a traditional, off menu feast. There are no words to describe the flavors and the fabulous foods we ate.

If you are in Portland and want to have amazing food in a beautiful historic home with the most incredible service, go to Lemongrass. You’ll never regret it.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank RyRyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Was looking for some authentic Thai for dinner, and this place delivered. Nothing fancy, just delicious Thai food, flavorful, thoughtful and made with love. Papaya salad was top notch, well seasoned - curry had that faint hint of heat and full of fresh veggies. Thanks for a great meal!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karl_YEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lemongrass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing