We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet sweet papa”
Review of Papa Haydn

Papa Haydn
Ranked #6 of 129 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Sweet sweet papa”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

yum, yum, yum. This place has the most beautiful and tasty dessert ever. the drinks aren't bad either.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    167
    65
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is good - Service not so much”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I scheduled a business lunch here recently and while the food was good, it took over an HOUR for us to be served. This meant that we all had to bolt our food in order to get back to work in a timely manner. And several people had soup--I mean, how long does it take to dish that up?? Portland is known for it's casual service, but this was rediculous! I personally like this restaurant and have eaten here many times, but be warned--if you are on a schedule, DO NOT come here. It's for the "leisure lunch" crowd who has plenty of time to linger.. I'm sorry to say that we won't be coming back for any more work lunches.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, love the desserts”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic food and service. Desserts never disappoint. They made our wedding cake 12 years ago and we still talk about it. Their carrot cake is the best we've ever had, hands down, anywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Takemeaway041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great for a lunch break”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great location along trendy 23rd Avenue - Papa Haydn has a wide selection of salads, pastas, entrees and desserts for lunch. I had the smoked salmon salad and a glass of white wine. The place has lots of windows to watch the street scene - or you can sit at small tables along the front of the restaurant on the sidewalk.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GareThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great For Dinner and Desserts!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have always known this was the best place for Desserts in Portland, but we recently came here for dinner and were so pleased with everything! The food was all fresh and delicious. The service was great! Just remember to save room for dessert.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Haydn also viewed

 

Been to Papa Haydn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing