We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Mingo

Caffe Mingo
Ranked #138 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Always Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at Caffe Mingo over the years, I am impressed the food quality has remained vibrant. From the moment you enter the staff is every vigilant to your needs. We decided to try a multi-course offering which the staff graciously split each serving into two small portions. The Sugo of beef as well as the Spring halibut was scrumptious. The wine selection was not overly expensive and predominately from Italy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlieVVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

In the 'alphabet district' which makes for a delightful pre or post dinner walk. The restaurant owner was very charming when we showed up without a reservation - he set us up at the adjacent bar and ensured we were comfortable until a table opened. The food was delicious; I had a taste of the lamb meatballs: I don't like lamb and I don't like meatballs, but I loved these, so they must be doing something right!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLandisNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our best meal in Portland. We were lucky and snagged an outside table on a beautiful evening. Everything was great. I had the braised beef penne (so tender) and he had the gnocchi with bacon (it was lite, not heavy). Very tasty indeed, plus, we had leftovers for lunch the next day--just added a salad. Food was super fresh and food/wine prices very reasonable. We will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
435 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

we had to stop in cafe mingo, as the owner is a friend of a friend of ours. racing to get there for happy hour, we were greeted with, "sit down and enjoy "..and we did..we had a couple of martinis..oh,;my..and salad, lamb meatballs in the best red sauce...polenta with cheese, arugula.. and a dessert to kill for. profillerals, with homemade gelato and warm chocolate sauce..wow, we are gong back tomorrow..thanks so much, mike...nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cher2116
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Portland Restraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the weekend in Portland went to five different places and Caffe Mingo hands down was the best food, atmosphere, service, and surprisingly was very well priced. Fresh made Italian made food, great service, and a relaxing enjoying setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cher2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Mingo also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Mingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing