We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Mingo

Caffe Mingo
Ranked #105 of 4,081 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great place for a date, event or just for food. The service is great, they have good food choices and an Italian has told me they like the way the food tastes: "autentica" :) Highly recommended for Italian food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gkaragat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    47
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NW neighborhood comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I fortunately made a reservation for a Saturday night as the small restaurants was full. The wait staff was informative, friendly and helpful and helped us make choices when debating several options. The wine was excellent and we enjoyed the whole meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake oswego
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Eating here just makes you happy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cafe Mingo in downtown Portland (be careful that you don't mix it up with Mingo in Hillsboro, also good, but long way away), is a casual, delightful little restaurant in NW. The staff are wonderful and courteous. I drink Port, and for a change I don't get the "baby glass" while everyone else has huge glasses of wine. The beef suga is an unreal dish that you want to eat with no one talking to you so you can fully enjoy it. Wonderful evening, every time we eat there. I do wish they took reservations for small groups, it is so busy on weekends that you can have quite a wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“surprised i'd never been there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friend and I took advantage of these dog days of summer to sit on the sidewalk patio and dine, which was just perfect. Even though people are walking by and some traffic, it is still pleasant. The Wait staff was friendly but not obtrusive or pompous, and really made it nice to enjoy a relaxing meal consisting of Crostini Trio: two of each so it's plentiful to share; one with pickles was so inspired and delicious, the BLT good, but the fishy one...not so good..maybe it was the stinky cheese but that's the one we didn't finish) Insalata Caprese (heirloom tomatoes and homemade mozzeralla, so fresh so yum). a nice Bottle of Barbera. I had the fresh pasta of the day- a pappardelle with Lamb, so good and also generous with the Lamb, which was so tender and perfectly spiced. My friend had the Sugo of Beef Penne, and it was enjoyed. We followed up with a Tiramisu to share; also lovely. I will definitely be back and hopefully often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mzungu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“good happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

All around great vibe, good food and excellent happy hour. Great location. The ricotta beignets are fabulous. Try them with a caffe coretto and you will be in heaven.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Mingo also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Mingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing