We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still a great bet for fine dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Higgins Restaurant and Bar

Higgins Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Higgins Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 4,112 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Still a great bet for fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I first visited Higgins in 1996, when I moved back to Portland in 2005 it was one of the first places we went for dinner. Was not disappointed. Never have been. I wish the portions were a smaller, they are so big, I have to plan to take home dessert. Friendly, smart staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pegleg_Pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    145
    71
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
global
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving 'Great'fulness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Higgins Restaurant was a cozy place for our Thanksgiving meal this year: excellent food and service, not too crowded but with a very jovial ambiance of activity - the dining rooms are split into different sections and levels. The menu offered several choices of soups, salads, main dishes and desserts - we tried some of each and agreed all were first class in combination of ingredients, preparation, presentation and taste. My boyfriend loved the fish chowder. I had to have the turkey entree (although there were tempting pork loin or salmon alternatives), which was very tender and juicy with cranberries perfectly cooked to maintain their wholeness so they popped their sweet tartness in your mouth! I couldn't resist going with the mood of the day by having the pumpkin soup AND pumpkin pie with spiced ice cream... All for a very affordable pris fixe. If you want to do this next year, be sure to reserve your table well in advance - I can see how this restaurant can become a tradition of its own. By the way, the Higgins Tavern in the back has top choices including our favorite: Belgian framboise beer on tap.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank commcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Was expecting better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My spouse and I planned an evening out that included going to Higgins for dessert. After listening to the Portland Youth Philharmonic at the Arlene Schnitzer auditorium, we walked the two blocks south to Higgins Restaurant. It was a Saturday night around 9:45pm and the place was pretty packed. We were greeted immediately and asked if we were there for dinner. No, dessert and coffee, please. We were seated at a very small table in the bar. It was cozy and loud, but we were waited on right away. We ordered the chocolate cake with white chocolate ganache and milk chocolate ice cream and walnut pear cake with chai ice cream. The walnut pear cake was good, especially the candied walnuts and the chai ice cream. The chocolate cake would have been good if they served it at room temperature, instead of something that had been pulled from the walk in. The ganache was rock hard, as was the milk chocolate ice cream, making it pretty difficult to eat. We were on a date night, so we splurged on this place. Two desserts and two coffees cost $29.00, including tip. We enjoyed our evening, but I wouldn't make plans to return. Surely there is somewhere downtown that serves a sensational dessert? I'll keep looking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vampiregran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Food- Great Community Supporters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food is ALWAYS excellent at Higgins. Doesn't matter if it's off the bar menu (AMAZING PASTRAMI SANDWICH) or in the dining room. The location is just as great! Perfect for a business lunch or dinner before a show. Right downtown and close to the theaters, shopping and hotels. They specialize in locally produced food so visitors to the Pacific Northwest should sample our local specialities. But besides the amazing food, Higgins is an incredible community partner. Since they opened, I solicited donations for the schools, arts, homeless cause and have never been denied. They are generous and truly care about our community. This is great food and caring community members. That's a win-win to me!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, OR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We came into town for a special evening with dinner and the Oregon Symphony. We have never eaten at Higgins so thought we would give it a try. We arrived early with only 2 other tables being busy. We were seated at the "corner" (see review below) table. Our waiter was friendly and we were told the specials of the day, in detail. We had the halibut and cod. The fish was fresh and prepared properly. What came with the fish was just so so. The cod came "citrus incrusted" (I would have preferred fresh lemon instead) and had a very cheesy flavored polenta (Italian cornmeal) which flavor wise didn't go with the fish. It also came with seared baby onions and broccoli. My wife enjoyed her halibut (with diced potatoes, bacon & mushrooms and cauliflower).

There is a large wait staff here. Many were just standing around waiting for the place to get busy. But we sat with dirty plates in front of us for 10 minutes before being cleared away. Overall this was a disappointing experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Explorer-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgins Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Higgins Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing