We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast and fresh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha! Cha! Cha!

Cha! Cha! Cha!
Ranked #945 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pearl
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fast and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Casual dining, inexpensive but authentic Mexican food.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank smc1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    34
    19
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was a convenient place for lunch while shopping in the pearl district, but wasn't anything spectacular. The indoor seating area is noisy and you self-bus your table when you are done. Decent casual Mexican restaurant, but not a foodie stopping place.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLPlovesPE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All this for under $30 !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My fiance & I have frequented the Sellwood location often enough for the owner to quip recently "Wow haven't seen you two in a bit !" I didn't realize we were missed...that's sweet. We had been busy and missed going for a few weeks and I craved their amazing Pork Carnitas Tacos, perfectly cooked pork with crispy, caramalized edges served simply with cilantro and finely diced onion on two yummy corn tortillas.So we ordered tacos for me, Chicken Burrito plate for Kendall and he's a big guy so if that plate fills him up, well you know you're getting alot! We also ordered Chips, Salsa & Guacamole AND I had to have a Pomegranet Margarita...YUMMY!!!! All this for less than $30 with tip!!!!! I love the people who work there as they are friendly, fast and seem to enjoy working there. You can eat outdoors (at this location) on a good day and the inside seating is colorful and feels like a party! The menu offers an amazing range and has something for everyone, vegetarian or not! Food is amazing, prices are cheap and they're fast & friendly...what more do you want. Great place for families too as well !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food, nothing special here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

With the influx of taco carts into the greater Portland area, as well as Oswaldo Bibiano's 2 AMAZING Mexican restaurants (Authentica & Mextiza). I can see no reason to frequent Cha! x 3. Their food is consistently average. There are no exciting flavors going on here, I would even say Chipotle has them beat. The only reason I can think to go is if they are next to your office and you are in a hurry for lunch.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Mexican fare, dog-friendly outdoor seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We arrived at this restaurant after wandering up and down the Pearl District one very hot August evening. The menu here looked great so we decided to head there after the shops closed and grabbed an outdoor seat where we could sit with our dog.

The lineup, speedy and quick, was a good indicator of the food to come.

Spouse had the enchilada, heaping portion size and very fulfilling, and added a fish taco as well. I had a shrimp taco and a fish taco - both scrumptious and just the right size for me (about the size of your hand). Shrimp taco was spicy and tangy. Fish taco was hearty and delicious. I wished I had tried their margarita but didn't get a chance to. Spouse commented that this is how authentic Mexican food should taste (e.g. the kind you can only get down in LA!). We also felt that although we felt full, that the meal itself was quite light and not overly greasy or unhealthy.

Prices are very reasonable for two. Bathrooms are clean and the restaurant interior and exterior are very clean. Outside seating is quite limited, so if you have a dog, you might need to wait for an outdoor seat or tie up your pooch and take a seat inside. Line-ups were long when we were there (well, anytime between 7 - 9 pm), but the line-ups looked brisk and most were for take-out.

Overall, great taste, good prices and authentic style and flair with the menu.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anemone350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha! Cha! Cha! also viewed

 

Been to Cha! Cha! Cha!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing