We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like your dining in Italy”
Review of Piazza Italia

Piazza Italia
Ranked #83 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pearl
Bi-Coastal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Feels like your dining in Italy”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A very popular place as it was packed with people waiting outside. Make a reservation!!! A very casual dining experience. We felt like we were in Italy, which we loved. The wait staff treated us with indifference, and some looked angry(as you would find in Rome). They do not offer gluten free pasta (they scoffed when I asked [that euro indifference])so I ordered the large prawn scampi and it was delicious. It's not 4 star service, but 4 star food, give it a try.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Live4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    95
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had lunch here, finding the restaurant by accident (walking in the Pearl, saw the delicious looking food people were eating at the outside tables). We also ate outside, and the restaurant is situated on a quiet side street. The house red wine, Sangiovese, went perfectly with the pasta dishes. We had the antipasto platter (very tasty and generous), and the arabbiata penne pasta was just right in the spicy department. Pesto dishes also looked great. We enjoyed a basket of bread with very flavorful olive oil, some of the best I have had. We would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamele_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Italian in Portland”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My brother and I chose this restaurant in the Pearl based on the high recommendations. It exceeded our expectations. Great location right off the streetcar. Reminded me of the great trattorias of Italy. Great ambience, though busy. Service was perfect. None of this "Hi my name is Jason and I will be your server today". Service was friendly, knowledgeable, swift, and unobtrusive. We split an outstanding salad, and both of our unique pasta entrees were the best ever. And most pastas are around $14, incredible! The house chianti was outstanding. This is my new favorite restaurant in Portland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Really like being in Rome or Florence. Food was phenomenal. Three of us ordered totally different items and all were fantastic. So good that we made reservations for tomorrow night as well. If you want authentic Italian food without the air fare, try this place. Did I mention it was phenomenal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coldlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A piece of Italy in the Pearl District”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great food in the Pearl District....makes you feel like you are in Italy, so much so the the bill was in Italian. It can be busy so make a reservation or be prepared to wait (an hour or more).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank blue30350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Italia also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing