We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for take out. Good food.”
Review of Cha B.A. Thai

Cha B.A. Thai
Ranked #967 of 4,341 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for take out. Good food.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good place for Thai if you are already in NE. I have always though the kitchen looks a little...

Parking can be a little hard near the entrance. You may need to walk a block or two.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LostinTransit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice experience!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We found this great Thai place on Sandy Blvd. yesterday. The interior was really pretty and very well detailed.
One of the best Thai places I have every been to. The food was very well presented with flavors out of this world.
Nice seating but if a large group be sure and call ahead. Takeout is also an option!
Loved it and will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband & I phoned in an order at 8:00pm on New Year's Eve. This was our second experience, having had dinner there with a friend who suggested the restaurant about a month ago. We thought our meal then was very, very good, which is why we decided to go back for takeout.
We ordered egg rolls, tempura and pork pad thai. Everything was amazingly good; the veggies were fresh, the portions were large, and there was not a drop of fat or gristle in the pork. We had hoped for a good dinner, and we got a great dinner. I'm quite sure we've just found our new favorite restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this place---great Thai food, very consistent”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been going to both Chaba Thai locations for years---love them both. The NE Alberta location has the easy family-friendly ambience and seating (outside too), with no lines. The original NE Sandy location has really excellent food, but gets crowded. So both are great! The dishes are made with fresh ingredients, deep flavors with good vegetarian options, and good drinks. Great value, and enjoyable atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasent”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is in the NE area of Portland, with inside and outside eating. The service was good and the food was good. It is a little out of the way but well worth finding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha B.A. Thai also viewed

 

Been to Cha B.A. Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing