We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite sushi restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mio Sushi

Mio Sushi
Ranked #566 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stumbled upon Mio Sushi several years ago on NW Johnson and have made it a must-stop every time a visit Portland since. The atmosphere is cozy and unique in a little house in a residential neighborhood. Prices are excellent (sushi is spendy where I live) and staff is friendly. You are greeted by both the chefs and servers when you enter the restaurant and thanked when you leave.
The sushi is presented well and the menu has a large selection of traditional rolls. I understand that Mio has opened several more locations in western Oregon due to their success, but the quality at the NW Johnson location has not changed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mawreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    43
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Veggie items clearly labelled on menu :D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This cafe has nice outdoor seating as well as indoor tables for colder days. There is a section on the menu dedicated to vegetarian sushi roll options and all of the veggie items in the appetizers and other menu items lists are labelled with a little green leaf. Service was friendly and quick. Perfect for lunch while strolling the shops around 21st - 23rd :D

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the best, but does the trick.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Sometimes you just want sushi without having to wait an hour or shell out $50. This place has creative rolls, good quality nigiri, and the price is fine. I wouldn't bring friends from out of town or choose it as date night, but I'd head there for lunch or dinner if a mid-week sushi craving hit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dr_MPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
408 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“delicious sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

we were celebrating our 5th anniversary and wanted to do it at this location. we began with a kirin beer and the eiko fuji sake, which quenched our throats. next we ordered the cucumber salad, which hit the spot. after finishing the salad, we had the asparagus sesame seeds rolls, the mt st helen, and the mackerel....all so tasty...the outside seating is fine, the server friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mio is Mio is Mio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Mio's are all the same, but that's not a bad thing. It's consistently solid sushi, and the service here is better than some of the other locations.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisPdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mio Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Mio Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing