We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and wholesome”
Review of J&M Cafe

J&M Cafe
Ranked #545 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and wholesome”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have enjoyed a big nutritious breakfast here many times here. The Mediterranean Scramble is so good! The atmosphere is homey and I like the wide variety of empty coffee cups on a wall rack one can choose from and then pump your own coffee as many times as you like. It is especially good place for a long conversation as it is not noisy and the tables are not crowded all together. Good for romance or a business meeting or just hanging with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lox and bagel in Portland???”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Some of the best I've had. Thinly sliced, wild caught NW salmon, served with an abundance of capers, onions, ripe tomatoes, fresh cream cheese, lettuce, and a nice toasted bagel. Great value, great taste, friendly and prompt service, and I'll go back next I'm in Portland. They don't accept credit cards, but there is an ATM outside the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ConflictedRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“reliably great breakfast”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is one of my favorite breakfast spots in Portland. It has wonderful cornmeal waffles and great eggs, too. The coffee is self-serve with endless refills. The space has good light and high ceilings. Bring money. They are cash only!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sussyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not the best service!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Server was not friendly!!! You get your own coffee and water!!! Definely have had way better food!! Bacon was strange!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
202 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Scrumptious, Healthy, Inexpensive Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

On a recent visit to Portland, our Hotel recommended we head to J & M for breakfast since it was in walking distance and we ended up having breakfast there three times!

One of my favorite things about this cafe is the coffee mugs are hanging on the wall and you just grab the mug that suits you (they're all different) and serve yourself. After a late night of dancing it was wonderful to just walk in and have your coffee immediately!!

My partner and I like to share dishes, so each day we ordered one main dish (Breakfast Burrito, Mediterranean Scramble & Garden Scramble), then we coupled the main dish with a bowl of fresh fruit with Nancy's yogurt & topped with dried cranberries, along with a large glass of fresh OJ. Our last day we splurged on a side order of local bacon -- OMG!! The main dishes were served with an orange slice, homefries & toast and we were barely able to finish our food -- all this wonderfully, fresh, yummy food for around $20-25!

Fresh, local foods at great prices with a friendly staff...you can't go wrong.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RockingGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&M Cafe also viewed

 

Been to J&M Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing