We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent neighborhood joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tin Shed Cafe

Tin Shed Cafe
Ranked #5 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Firs timer was impressed with the "foodieness" ( is that a word?) of the place. Went for dinner. Had the polenta with artichoke and mushrooms. It was exquisite. My honey had the salmon burger, which is not a burger but a fillet of salmon. Also excellent. Observed others thoroughly enjoying their meals. Definite gem. Limited menu but good stuff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeriLou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    172
    39
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Get there for happy hour! 3-6pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Zoinks! Great value and excellent food. We had the Jammy Davis Jr. quesadilla, the Potato Head, and Phyllis Diller. All were delicious and the first two were 2 bucks off each because we were there during happy hour. We sat outside on the patio (dog friendly) which is an excellent option if you're noise-sensitive (the cafe itself it quite small and loud when busy). You'll find the portions are generous...especially if you order wine during happy hour. They had some delicious beers to choose from and the whole experience had that relaxed vibe we came to appreciate in Portland. Definitely a place to try while you're in town!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank photographer_smurf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delectable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place is excellent. They have great food options, including vegan and gluten free, all delicious looking. It's always busy, so I thought I'd have to give it a try in off-peak (not the weekend) and I was not disappointed. The service was good, the food was timely and delicious, they had a great drink menu, delicious biscuits, self-serve coffee. Would definitely go back. They have 2 patios, a garden and porch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Michele R... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I had a nice lunch here during a day spent walking Alberta Street. I had the artichoke sandwich, which was creamy, rich and yummy. The food was great, but I thought the best part was the staff's obvious enjoyment of each other and their work. It made for great service and a fun atmosphere!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast In Existence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family and I came to this amazing place about a month ago and just went back again for our 2nd visit. Each time it has been the most wonderful experience of the day! Not only are the people amazingly nice but the service was quick (after the hour wait to be seated) which is great and the food absolutely the best. My father loves breakfast and has had quite a lot of it in his life but didn't hesitate to declaire it the best breakfast he has ever had and I have to agree. Something else I like is the serve yourself coffee and tea. It is so wonderful to be able to fill your drinks as soon as the delicious contents are gone and the offerings of mix and matched mugs is awesome and very Portland :) Whether you sit inside by the cute and cozy bar or in the more outdoor covered patio area it is a wonderful time and always worth the wait!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyStillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Shed Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tin Shed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing