We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can stay here forever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland Mayor's Mansion
Ranked #3 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay area, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I can stay here forever!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We feel privileged to stay at such a beautiful mansion. Unlike other B&Bs, the owner did not transform living room, family room...into rented rooms, therefore we have multiple rooms to roam around. It was raining pretty hard in Portland, we got to cozy up in the library and read. They have many books and magazines.

Being from the Bay Area, we are not used to rain and therefore had no umbrellas. Have no fear we just used one of theirs and took a pleasant walk in the park behind the mansion.

When we were bored with ourselves, we chat with other guests in the beautiful living room. And yes, I woke up early one morning and worked in the living room, amid beautiful furnishing and wonderful classical music, looking out into serene night view. Work doesn't get better than this. In addition to the sumptuous breakfast, Dick provided cookies, sweets, tea, sparkling water, and fruit throughout the day.

I can stay here for months.

Room Tip: Ankemy is not small like other people said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for two nights over a trip last 4th of July. It is a beautiful home - both because of the design and because the owner has taken such great care in decorating it. The owner is wonderful. He is so friendly, even sharing some of his wine with us one night in the kitchen when we got home. He has lots of suggestions for things to do around the city and also knows a lot about the city's history. The breakfasts were delicious. Lots of yummy options and many homemade treats. All the other guests were so nice and we enjoyed chatting with everyone. The home is on the edge of a park that provides an excellent place for a relaxing walk and there are some good restaurants a quick walk or drive away. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amynatebelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed there on a weekend getaway from Seattle for a night in November. Dick was welcoming, knowledgable and made a great breakfast, we felt like we got to know him! Our room was clean, comfortable and so quiet! We have stayed in many bed and breakfast's around the world and I would have to say this is one of our favorites... we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have family in Portland and often stay at their home. We now feel like we can stay with family even if not under the same roof. Our stay was beyond comfortable, and felt like we had been friends for years. The breakfasts were magical and every effort to ensure our comfort was met with a sense of accommodation, not necessity. Will be staying again, whenever the opportunity presents itself. The setting and era is respectful of the historic designation, and yet keeps up with modern needs seamlessly. Richard "innkeeper Dick" Kroll is a gentleman and artistic soul that will enhance your visit if you are open to genuine hospitality.

Room Tip: We chose the smallest suite with private bath and were not disappointed. If you have a 4 or 5 family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabonds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent eight wonderful days here over Thanksgiving. We have traveled widely and never stayed at a nicer and more hospitable place. The room was perfect, bed very comfortable, decor lovely. The public rooms are elegant. David worked hard to make sure all our needs were met. His breakfasts are over the top.
We will be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Can't say enough wonderful things about Dick and his B&B property. Backing onto the expansive Laurelhurst Park is the Portland Mayor's Mansion - a calm respite from this crazy world.

Beautiful two-story property with carefully restored original architectural details. You can tell that so much love and care was poured into making this place a home. Sumptuous living spaces on the main floor, including a formal sitting area, library, dining room and solarium where we enjoyed Dick's delicious cooking - during our stay, he served home made baked french toast, sausage from acclaimed butcher Laurelhurst Market and a selection of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola.

Can't say enough wonderful things about Dick, he's such a warm, kind, welcoming person and did so much to make us feel right at home. Already thinking of when my partner and I can come back for another visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, but when we come back (when, not if) we'll definitely be trying the mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, Owner at Portland Mayor's Mansion, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you to you and all previous reviewer for your reviews! I attempt to have all my guests enjoy my home as much as I do and to enjoy the wonderful lifestyle of Portland, Oregon. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you're going to visit the grandchildren, for goodness sake don't stay with your kids. This elegant B&B will make you forget that your daughter doesn't want your advice on raising kids. The second you walk into this elegant yet homey place, you're on vacation. Proprietor Dick is smart, funny, classy, layback, and a great cook. The Mansion is furnished with antiques from the same period as the house, that Dick and his partner acquired from years of shopping estate sales. Close to public transportation and restaurants, parking is free, and the Mansion's backyard is a beautiful city park.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, priced according to size. Everywhere you look, there's something be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,027 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Mayor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Mayor's Mansion

Property: Portland Mayor's Mansion
Address: 3360 SE Ankeny St, Oregon, Portland, OR 97214-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland Mayor's Mansion™ is a four-room bed and breakfast located at Laurelhurst Park in Portland, Ore. The mansion, which was originally called the H. Russell House, has been referred to as The Mayor's House or The Mayor's Mansion for many years. It is our intention to keep the beautiful and historic home, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, connected to its past. The H. Russell Albee House, built in 1912, holds significance under the U.S. Department of the Interior's Criterion "C" as an excellent and well-maintained example of Colonial Revival Architecture. Located on a commanding site overlooking Laurelhurst Park in southeast Portland, the large brick home was designed by prominent architect, Albert E. Doyle. Significant elements include the following: Bilateral symmetry of the front elevation Hipped roof Arched and rectangular windows, double-hung and casement Pedimented entrance portico; and Full Doric entablature at the roofline and classical interior detailing - all characteristic features of the Colonial Revival. Albert E. Doyle designed many large homes in Portland. His most prominent works included the Selling Building, Multnomah County Central Library, Northwest Bank Building (now the American Bank Building), Reed College, Benson Hotel, U.S. National Bank Building, the lodge at Multnomah Falls, Public Service Building and the Pacific Building where he moved his office in 1926. H. Russell Albee carries significance under the U.S. Department of the Interior's criterion "B" for his contribution to good government in Portland and his lifelong interest and support for the city park system. Albee served one term as a State Senator before being elected mayor of Portland in 1913. He was elected on a progressive platform that included a charter proposal that eliminated the old ward system and introduced the commission form of government Portland has today. Albee's skill and leadership brought about the successful implementation of the new government and the related modern programs. He led the efforts to develop the city's public docks and strongly supported measures to implement the park expansion called for in the 1912 Bennett Plan. He did not seek reelection in 1917, returned full time to his insurance business. In 1939, after his retirement from business, Albee returned to public service when the city council invited him to accept the temporary post of advisor and assistant to the Superintendent of Parks, a position that was established in connection with a new park development program. The position was made permanent in 1940 and Albee was given title of Supervisor of Land Acquisition and Development for the Bureau of Parks. He continued in that position until his death at age 83, December 31, 1950. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing