We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast in Portland, OR”
Review of Broder

Broder
Ranked #212 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast in Portland, OR”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stumbled upon this comfy neighborhood type place for breakfast. Fabulous food and service. We would definitely want to eat at the counter again and watch the masterful cook preparing everyone's food right in front of us. Great menu, creative, affordable. Would love to visit there again next time in Portland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcbswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Birthday brunch with my sister---so tasty and the coffee, just the way a good Norwegian likes it! Strong. the baked egg scrambles were delicious but I had to make a choice between that and the aebilskivers. it was hard---protein won out.
Had to get there before opening and stand in line.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy & Adorable Swedish Brunch!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I love breakfast and Broder was recommended by my Portland friends (who also said never go on weekends unless a 1+ hour wait sounds appealing.) Taking their advice, we went at 9:45am on a Monday and got the last open table! It was cozy and friendly so we settled in with our menus.

I got the SOLSTICE BORD ($12)- and an array of deliciousness arrived at the table on a plank. It had a poached egg, ham, potato salad, toast with jam, fantastic cheese, rye crisp, spreadable cheese with chives AND a blueberry yogurt parfait with homemade granola! Ahhhh! It sounds like an epic amount of food, but the portions were adorably small and dainty.

Next time I'm going for the Swedish pancakes; golfball-sized dough balls that you dip in jam. Yummm, I'm thinking about going back already!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneSip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unique, tasty Swedish brunch!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Shared a delicious, cozy brunch at Broder with a good friend. We were the last table to be seated int he first wave of brunch (so get there early!), and loved the friendly, warm ambiance and cozy decor. We had a tough time deciding what to order, but settled on the smoked trout pytt i panna (Swedish hash) and the friterade applen (apple fritters). Both were great!! Perfect portion sizes, delicious food, very reasonably priced, and lovely service. Would happily return to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refreshing different brunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped by for a late Friday lunch. We took seats at the counter instead of waiting for a table, and it was marvelous watching the cooks at work, rarely speaking, in comfortable tandem. Great variety on the menu with options not typical for a diner menu. The hash with smoked trout and poached eggs was delicious. My fellow diners also enjoyed their choices. I would return at any opportunity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broder also viewed

 

Been to Broder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing