We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy & Adorable Swedish Brunch!”
Review of Broder

Broder
Ranked #219 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Englewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy & Adorable Swedish Brunch!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I love breakfast and Broder was recommended by my Portland friends (who also said never go on weekends unless a 1+ hour wait sounds appealing.) Taking their advice, we went at 9:45am on a Monday and got the last open table! It was cozy and friendly so we settled in with our menus.

I got the SOLSTICE BORD ($12)- and an array of deliciousness arrived at the table on a plank. It had a poached egg, ham, potato salad, toast with jam, fantastic cheese, rye crisp, spreadable cheese with chives AND a blueberry yogurt parfait with homemade granola! Ahhhh! It sounds like an epic amount of food, but the portions were adorably small and dainty.

Next time I'm going for the Swedish pancakes; golfball-sized dough balls that you dip in jam. Yummm, I'm thinking about going back already!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneSip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unique, tasty Swedish brunch!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Shared a delicious, cozy brunch at Broder with a good friend. We were the last table to be seated int he first wave of brunch (so get there early!), and loved the friendly, warm ambiance and cozy decor. We had a tough time deciding what to order, but settled on the smoked trout pytt i panna (Swedish hash) and the friterade applen (apple fritters). Both were great!! Perfect portion sizes, delicious food, very reasonably priced, and lovely service. Would happily return to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refreshing different brunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped by for a late Friday lunch. We took seats at the counter instead of waiting for a table, and it was marvelous watching the cooks at work, rarely speaking, in comfortable tandem. Great variety on the menu with options not typical for a diner menu. The hash with smoked trout and poached eggs was delicious. My fellow diners also enjoyed their choices. I would return at any opportunity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We like to try different restaurants in Portland for brunch and this one stands out. Their offerings are unique, creative and delicious! I don't remember some of the names of the dishes but I had the apple fritter with sausage and egg and it was divine. My husband ordered a potato pancake with "bacon syrup" and strawberry cream. It may sound odd but the combination of savory and sweet is something we, as a family, crave for! Who can have a pancake without bacon or sausage, for example? The restaurant is also very creatively decorated. The light fixture on the ceiling is super cool and it just feels like a comfortable and hip place to be in. I'd love to go for dinner soon!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anaknilinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Swedish cuisine in a charming cafe”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice meal and experience at Broder. We asked the waiter for a recommendation, and he suggested great items. Do not miss the hot dog topped with a potato pancake and shrimp salad and wrapped in flat bread. Quite a dish. Small portions which I liked because we could try a few things. Plus, our tab for two
Entrees and two drinks was $30. That is a good value. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarthaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broder also viewed

 

Been to Broder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing