We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasty n Alder

Tasty n Alder
Ranked #3 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent place! We had gone during brunch on a Tuesday and didn't have to wait! We had the enchiladas...fried cheese biscut with fried chicken... i think anything fried chicken on that menu is good! and the awesome fries!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    208
    47
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great late night dinner spot, worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We came here to enjoy dinner with my cousin. Place was jammed on a Friday night. We waited over an hour for a table for 3, but very much worth the wait. They helped get us cocktails while we waited for our table and made it pleasant to wait. Had steak frites (awesome), local IPA to drink, and some grilled broccolini.

Would definitely visit again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Portland Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

While waiting in line at the REI garage sale, a local recommended this place to us and said Portland does brunch and this was a place to go.
Between the 3 of us we tried the Korean fried chicken, the Pork Schnitzel​, and the amazing french toast. If you order the french toast jut go ahead and get the full order, you'll be sad once you realize you could have had more. The food was really good!
Since it was brunch, we ordered drinks too. An Asian style Bloody Mary with hosin sauce was yummy. Someone else ordered this coffee brandy punch concoction that was delicious! I had a large hefe that was also really well paired with my food.
We had a great time and I would recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breegreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inventive, quality food with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We ate here twice on our five day trip to Portland because we liked it so much the first time. The menu was interesting and offered more fish choices than we had seen in other Portland restaurants. Everything tasted great and while the place was super busy, loud and slightly hectic, it added to the overall atmosphere. The servers were great(Jenn and Kristen), and were able to speak knowlegably about all menu items. On our second trip we went back for the salmon which looked amazing but they were out of. We uttered that we had come back for the salmon and they apologized and within minutes brought us a complimentary small plate of trout, which I thought was a really tasteful way to mitigate our disappointment for their being out of a menu item. My favorites were the goat cheese dumplings, the squid, and the trout and accoutrements! Will go back next time we are in Portland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Went there for Sunday brunch while visiting the city. Waited 1 hr but they give you free coffee while you wait. Odered the steak and eggs and the bim bop rice bowl. Both dishes were delicious!! The steak was a little over cooked for us but everything else was very tasty!

Helpful?
Thank hamkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Tasty n Alder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing