We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ava Gene's

Ava Gene's
Reserve with OpenTable
Ava Gene's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is our second visit to Ava Gene's and recommend it to anyone who loves Italian food. The menu is fantastic, offering many dishes that we have not encountered ofter outside of Italy. The full taste of Italian food, as interpreted by talented Northwest chefs, is offered with many appetizers, pasta dishes, mains, and side dishes. Everything we had was wonderful. The wine list has many reasonable selections by the glass or bottle. The service is excellent: knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient. One hint: the later you go, the easier it is to get a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esandespdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    51
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous!!! Excellent service, great menu and amazing daily specials. This was a fantastic experience for our first night in portland.

Helpful?
Thank Farsholious
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant in 'Weird' Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a month's notice of a trip to Portland and on a friend's advice, we wanted to book a table at Ava Gene's. It was a challenge to get a reservation even with a personal email to the manager but we managed to get one. Ava Gene's is an unassuming small restaurant in a rather cool neighbourhood just outside of downtown Portland. The staff was outstanding but I must say, rather unorthodox. Lots of tattoos, beards and jeans. But an incredible take on customer service. Well educated, caring and passionate about their food and industry. We had some of the best Italian food there ever, including trips to Italy. The outstanding dish was the burrata cheese with chorizo pinwheel pastries. I'll be recreating that at home for sure! The rabbit gnocchi was phenomenal. All in all, an incredible experience worth repeating. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Portland Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I highly recommend Ava Gene's. The ambiance is beautiful and the service was wonderful. The "From the Garden" section of the menu was lovely and fresh. We had the carrots with whipped ricotta and it was lovely. I had the goose breast as an entree and it was perfectly prepared. The flavors are clean and deep.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrslaurenmoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
395 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth a try if you have a reservation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Make a reservation or show up a few minutes before they open to nail a spot at the chef's table. It can get a little warm there with the open wood fire but the show is worth it. I have been here a few different times and have mixed opinions. The first time I went I loved it! The small garden appetizers were wonderful and unique and the pasta was super fresh. The few times after that I felt like the portions decreased in size, especially the pasta (main dishes) and we left slightly hungry for the prices we paid. It is definately worth a try but since I have been there a few times I probably will not be going back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ava Gene's also viewed

 

Been to Ava Gene's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing