We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer Is Not Cold...And They Don't Care” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thirsty Lion

Thirsty Lion
Reserve with OpenTable
Thirsty Lion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #255 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beer Is Not Cold...And They Don't Care”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

On my way to a Timber's game with my brother and we thought we'd stop for a bite and a beer. My brother suggested the Thirsty Lion and it looked interesting. The food was fine, nothing spectacular but the beer was not cold, not even close.

I ordered a Deschutes Chainbreaker and it was served in a warm glass with beer that was barely chilled. When I inquired if they had any cold beer the answer I got was the temperature is the same on all beers. Ok, well...why is the temperature not turned to cold? Also...not all beers should be at the same temperature.

I stopped at one beer when I easily would have drank three.

I won't be returning to the Thirsty Lion, but at least I've solved the mystery of why the Lion was Thirsty...he couldn't get a cold beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    54
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We parked our car at public parking right across from Thirsty Lion so it was quite convenient. We were there in mid-July, mid-afternoon and had outdoor seating. Great nachos with lots of great toppings - It was gone quickly! We also had pulled pork sliders which was quite tasty and delicious!
Service was good! Nothing to warn anyone about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RossSit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
362 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast after visiting the public market and were rewarded with good food and mimosas. Sat outside but the inside is a nice tavern.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ho Hum menu and sketchy service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a nice location but don't expect great food. The service was slow and honestly, a little bit unfriendly. The waitress appeared bored and bothered that she had to wait on us. The food is standard bar food and the menu is unimaginative. Stop here if everything else is booked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank midwestmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor service and cold food...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

There are two Thirsty Lion locations in the Portland area, this review is specifically for the downtown location. Our experiences at the Washington Square locations have been excellent (friendly staff, great food, great environment). We went in on Sunday morning for the breakfast menu. We got there right when it opened and were the 4th family seated. 40 minutes, and 15 LOUD music videos later of 80's boy bands, our food arrived cold (every single item on three separate meals was cold, and greasy). I told the waitress and she said nothing, NOT A WORD, walked away and got the manager. Instead of coming right back to our table, they walked into the kitchen. We never saw the server again, no apology from her or anything. The manager did apologize, saying our food was left in the window (server error). The least the server could have done was apologize, if not for her error, at least on behalf of the restaurant. Don't waste your time at this place unless you want a dark, dreary bar atmosphere with poor service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddyBird99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thirsty Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing