We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty & fresh...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samui Thai Kitchen

Samui Thai Kitchen
Ranked #1,171 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Samui Thai Kitchen specializes in delicious Southern Thai cuisine and well loved traditional favorites. All items can be made vegan, vegetarian, less or more spicy."Good food comes with Thai Spices."
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty & fresh...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We enjoyed the classic Pad Thai and Mee Kow Saem with fresh rolls. Their peanut satay sauce is made with fresh ground peanuts and the plum sauce is delightful. Fresh rolls are created with basil and bean sprouts, egg, carrot and lettuce. Very tasty with the plum sauce. Would return again. Easy to find on Hawthorne Street and reasonably priced. If you need a dose of Thai, this is a great place to stop in for lunch

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Samui Thai Kitchen-- Fresh and Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This Thai enclave on Hawthorne owned by Joy has amazing Thai food. The ingredients used are obviously very fresh (real fresh vegetables) and high quality meats. The spices used were authentic and you can even order dishes that are truly spicy! The ambience is casual/romantic and a great place for a date. The owner runs this place well (Joy) and the service is incredible. We can't wait to eat here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinANDMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Portland is full of Thai restaurants, particularly the Hawthorn district. This place is original and distinctive. The family that owns it is from the island of Ko Samui in southern Thailand and the food, if you choose to order beyond Pad Thai, shows it. Last night we had green lipped mussel coconut soup, followed by the most unique Calamari salad I have ever had. The main course was stir fried seafood with eggplant. I wanted to lick the plate. Our waitress/owner joyfully accommodates our low-carb, piscatarian diet. Making it one of our favorite places to eat out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neswstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've lived in Portland for 25+ years and have been making and eating Thai, Vietnamese, and Chinese food for longer than that. I've traveled China for 14 plus months and have had everything from street food to upscale places in Beijing. This restaurant is truly great. . We tried it about 4 weeks ago. NOTE THIS . This place was formerly Chopsticks a very sub-par Chinese restaurant. All reviews about Chopsticks should be stricken from this record! I ordered the Nam Tok, hot, a beef salad which is a favorite dish. The version here was a perfect balance of sweet, salty, sour, hot and cool. The dry curry was handmade and had twice as much spice as the typical version. The portion was very reasonable and lasted me for 2 more lunches. Samui is an island and a chance to eat regional specialties is quite rare. We had the Muu Haawng, and Kua Kling, Gaai. Both outstanding . Read that menu at samuipdx.com This place deserves far more business. The owner has experience at what I used to consider the best Thai place in NE Portland and is a much better cook . This place outclasses all the other Thai places in S.E. bar none. Read my other reviews. I only review places I believe in or feel compelled to warn you about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is our favorite spot for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently ate at Samui Thai Kitchen. It was an amazing assortment of flavors. We had Crispy Chicken Salad with avocado and apples, Drunken Noodles with beef, and Noodle Curry with chicken drumsticks. We also enjoyed a spring roll and thai coffee.

I dream about getting another salad here. The citrus dressing is light and slightly spicy. With the apples, it's a wonderful assortment of flavors all at once. The Drunken noodles are one of my favorite Thai dishes and I am not disappointed with Samui's recipe. The Noodle curry had a wonderful presentation and delightful flavor and good chicken.

We look forward to going many more times and trying more menu items.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SashanJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samui Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing