We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening Place”
Review of Imperial

Imperial
Reserve with OpenTable
Imperial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 4,313 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Stark
Transit: MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Happening Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food and service at the Imperial were quite good. Note that entrees do not come with any sides though there were quite a selection to chose from. The fennel side was really tasty, though I would have preferred to have the aioli on the side rather than the large serving spooned on top of the fennel. The mushrooms and bone marrow were excellent. As the evening progressed, the noise level increased dramatically, so probably not the place for that romantic rendezvous.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    212
    61
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yes!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I hosted a business dinner for 12 people here and it was incredible. We reserved the private room just off the entrance. Since this room has two glass walls, you still feel like you are part of the restaurant, while having the ability to converse privately.

The general manager introduced himself and checked on us several times, and the server was incredibly friendly and made great recommendations from the menu. Everyone was thrilled with their choices from the creative menu. We will definitely be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot. Will be back!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I stopped in for dinner here during a business trip due to its proximity to my hotel down town. Sat at the bar.

I took the bar tenders recommendation to try the pork and after a chat let him pair it with a glass of red wine. The meal was, as promised, excellent. The wine he paired it with was a great recommendation (and one I'll be looking to buy at home).

Relaxed atmosphere. Excellent staff and service. Looking forward to my next trip back to try another dish.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Duck meatballs - OMG so delicious. Could have ordered several orders of these. Roasted beets ... melt in your mouth. Everything was fantastic and the ambience was perfect for a group of friends, business meeting, anything really.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inventive and Tasty Food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went last Friday night joined by two of our friends. My expectations were that we were going to have a Barbeque meal, but the newspaper review talked about the grilled food so I jumped to an erroneous conclusion. Instead we were treated to the use of a large expanded metal grill that the chef raises and lowers it to control cooking temperature.

We had a wide variety of delicious food: grilled trout with blood sausage (that we all loved!); grilled romaine salad; carrot-ginger soup; duck mixed grill (confit leg, liver mousse, breast, etc.); and quail. Each main course was accompanied with some special treat (lentils with orange, for example). We shared a brown sugar pecan pie that made a great ending to the great meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pdxpizzaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial also viewed

 

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing