We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummmmm”
Review of Bollywood Theater

Bollywood Theater
Ranked #49 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
Restaurant details
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
sponge rocks, florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This cool restaurant has it all: groovy decor, friendly staff, excellent prices, and especially dee-licious food. I had the Kati Roll with paneer cheese, and we shared papadums with 3 chutneys, and I got to taste chicken curry thali. All were fabulous. The chutneys were especially nicely fresh, including with mint, cilantro, mango, and more. Loved the place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riakeinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    92
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Different Slice of India”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The last thing I would eat in Mumbai would be street food. My western stomach isn't up to the local sanitation standards. So, what a treat to have authentic Indian fast food prepared in Portland. We had the Kati Rolls, Pork Vindallo and Chaat, with salt and sweet lassis. It is not the more traditional Indian fare with spicy, complex sauces. This is fun food served simply in a seat yourself environment. The Bollywood film projected on the wall gives the place a sense of levity. Expensive by Mumbai standards, inexpensive for Portland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Indian street food, yet inside!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A local treasure! This makes conventional Indian fare, quite boring by comparison. I don't really remember the names of the various foods I had there, but it really does not matter. We ordered about 8 different items from their very nice selection. The food came out of the kitchen in batches, which worked out perfect as we cleaned one plate, another was placed right in front of us. Non stop eating it was. There was a continuous line to the door, but it moved quickly. The food was fresh and tasty and portions were generally large. If I lived in Portland, this would be a very often spot for me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too expensive and has no taste of real Indian cuisine”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I visited this place after hearing from many people. Definitely the interior of this place is very good. Gives a real feel of late 60s and early 70s of India. Unfortunately the food is not like real Indian food. Taste is horrible and its too pricey. I was really disappointed with the quality and taste of the food. I myself cook very good so I know how to use spices. If you are looking for some decent tasty Indian snacks and Indian food then this is not the place for sure.

Food is served in silverware (steel utensils) which gives you the Indian feel. They were playing the movie "Don" starring Amitabh Bachchan but they were playing western music. C'mon... when everything is Indian then you should have played Indian Classical or Bollywood number.

No offense, but I was the only Indian when I visited including the restaurant staff which clears that the taste is not the real Indian taste.

Overall, I was not satisfied with what I paid in terms of taste and quality/quantity.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gandalf201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Indian Street Food to Share”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Don't let the long line worry you. It goes fast and it is worth the wait. You have to order at the counter and they will deliver the food to your table. As more people come in, more leave so we didn't find it hard to find a table even though the line was out the door. There were 3 of us and we wanted to try as much as possible. We were with a friend who lives nearby. She has tasted pretty much everything on the menu so we went with her suggestions. We recommend the Bhel Puri, Dahi Papri Chaat, Pork Vindaloo, Okra, Roasted Beets and Grilled Corn (loved, loved). They also have a great drink menu with cocktails (Pimm's Cup!), beer, wine and fantastic Yogurt lassi, ginger-lime soda and hot or cold Chai. It's a fun place. Save room for ice cream next door at Salt & Straw.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Theater also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing