We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice drinks and Affordable, Tasty Food”
Review of Bollywood Theater

Bollywood Theater
Ranked #56 of 4,272 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An amazing place recently opened! Do add as soon as you can
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice drinks and Affordable, Tasty Food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fun atmosphere coupled with some of the best Indian food in Portland. We especially like the fried okra and chicken dishes. Nice people as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    89
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Cuisine!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's a very casual, unique Indian spot, conveniently located next door to Salt and Straw Ice Cream!
The food is authentic, tasty and very reasonably priced. You do bus your own table. service is great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mama2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food was OK (for me) -- but not very authentic”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was average for an Indian restaurant here in the US. But, the only Indian people that I saw in the entire place were my two friends. None of the staff or other customers!

And, my Indian friends were definitely not impressed with the food or the cheesy decor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn OR
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not sure why this star is rising”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Named a rising star by The Oregonian, we went to Bollywood with high hopes, but not exceptionally high expectations. It's an order at the counter, pick up your silverware type of restaurant. The staff was friendly and efficient. The food was fine, but not exceptional. I had chicken curry and rice which was $10 for the small plate, plus a disappointing chai tea. My husband had the goan shrimp dinner which came with some small sides and deep fried bread which neither of us were crazy about. We both have had better Indian food including at Chennai Masala in Beaverton.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indieOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian food but arrive early”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've now been to this restaurant for lunch twice in the company of friends, and loved the food, and the very reasonable price they charge for it. The setting in a very popular part of Northeast Portland, Oregon, is easy to find, although on-the-street parking can be difficult to find if it's a particularly popular time of day. Arrive early for lunch, since it gets very crowded indeed at about noon. Their approach to service is minimal, but it works fine. You pick up a menu as you enter, then when you've selected what you want you go to the desk and tell them your order and pay for it. When it's ready, they bring it to your table. The food is fabulous as three of us all agreed on one of the occasions I was there, and two of us agreed the next time. While the menu contains non-vegetarian dishes, there is an excellent list of vegetarian possibilities as well. One hint: do not be misled by the heading "small plate" as one of the options (as contrasted with a thali meal); on the occasions I was there I had different small plates for lunch and always took home part of it to eat later. They have beers available, including Kingfisher (an Indian beer) on tap, but there's a wide range of non-alcoholic drinks as well including an excellent variety of Lassis. I got so tempted by the ice-cream place almost next door to them that I paid little attention to the dessert portion of their menu, so can't report about that at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msafiri_Hodari_Sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Theater also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing