We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lunch”
Review of Tasting East - CLOSED

Tasting East
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Description: TASTING EAST is a tasting experience of flavor, aroma, delicious taste [umai mi] and culinary exploration of Far East street plates. In TE:bar our Street Plate menu features many dishes with specially sourced ingredients, and all are filled with foolish deliciousness [bakuma].
Restaurant details
Description: TASTING EAST is a tasting experience of flavor, aroma, delicious taste [umai mi] and culinary exploration of Far East street plates. In TE:bar our Street Plate menu features many dishes with specially sourced ingredients, and all are filled with foolish deliciousness [bakuma].
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stopped by for a quick lunch while visiting Portland on business. I had Pad Thai, which was so fresh and tasty. The service was great and the dining area was bright and friendly with windows to the street on two sides. A great place for a quick bite. I noticed that several local people were meeting friends there, which told me that it has a good reputation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Makes your mouth happy.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We originally went for dinner, but ended up there for happy hour. The menu is extensive for happy hour and our choices were delicious. Beef pancake, street cauliflower, miso soup and the salmon that was somewhat like a Chinese ceviche. Our waitperson was very patient to explain the menu to us. The blend of flavors in each dish was a perfect combination.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skylark205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the usual hotel restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I think it a bit strange to have an Asian style restaurant attached to a large hotel. The atmosphere in the restaurant is fine for a casual lunch, but I would not want to eat here if it was a special occassion. On the other hand, the food was really good. I had the Seafood Congee - delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmer0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected for a "hotel restaurant"!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was staying at the Paramount Hotel which is attached to Tasting East. I don't usually have high expectations of any "hotel restaurants" but the food her was very tasty! The only downer was that one evening when we were having a few drinks the waitress was not very knowledgeable about the brands of liquor and my "Manhattan straight up" was very watery, like it had been sitting in the shaker with ice for a while and the ice had melted into it. Otherwise the food and the service were really good! They also serve breakfast and have some Asian breakfast options. The street cauliflower and the pork belly bagas were particularly yummy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArielQuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had seafood congee from the breakfast menu. It was wonderful. Congee is a rice soup that is prepared with many possible fillings. The congee I chose was filled with a lot of different shellfish (without shells) and a softly prepared egg. I am a congee fan back home in NYC but I wish it would be more like the one I had for breakfast today.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasting East also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing