We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bamboo”
Review of Bamboo Sushi

Bamboo Sushi
Ranked #18 of 4,477 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Bamboo Sushi, we make every decision with the highest regard for this world and the people in it. From transparency in how we source our food to reducing our carbon footprint to enriching the communities we live in; our mission is to change the way people eat, inspiring a shift within the restaurant industry and beyond. Everything you eat has an impact — It’s time to know yours.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We walked in without a reservation (don't know if they take them) and waited at the bar for about 40 minutes for a table. Very good sushi, sashimi, and rolls with a nice selection of sake. Friendly service.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PMGpmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 324 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Get the sushi and enjoy every bite!!! It was fresh, best flavor combos and truly nice people. Green tea was authentic

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank trynewstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

I rarely eat sushi where the menu is not "more of the same". Very fresh fish. There were some "cured" offerings which brought more variety than most places and were excellent. Many sushi restaurants serve pieces too large to pop into your mouth without taking a bite first, but these are the perfect size. The non-sushi menu was small but interesting. To start, at the sushi bar, before ordering you are given a small box of edamame and a plate with ginger and oshinko. I was happy to find this place.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank haroldlflescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Bamboo Sushi touts a sustainable and ethically sourced menu of seafood and sides. All of the food is plated very well, serving sizes leave a little to be desired and the service is exactly what you would expect.

The bartender (we sat at the bar) took our order and delivered our food, describing each piece of fish we were about to eat. We devoured our plates and put in a second order. We ordered raw quail egg shooters (along with an assortment of other yummies) and asked the bartender/waiter if the quail eggs were free range eggs. We did this tongue in cheek, playing off the Portlandia episode about free range foods. In an attempt to impress his costumers, the bartender/waiter corrected us and informed us that the eggs were actually wild-sourced. We thought he was playing so we asked if there were egg-sourcing companies out there hunting eggs in wild habitats- he was quick to defend his original claim, doubling down and telling us that there are wild quail all over San Francisco (where his grandparents lived) so it is not out of the realm of reality to be able to source wild quail eggs in urban Portland.

He's probably right, but I bet one would violate any number of Fish and Game laws by snatching eggs from wild quail nests.

Food was good- the services was hilariously pretentious.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Go early so you don't have to wait in line. The line can be long and it grows quickly. We decided to let our server choose a variety of dishes that she felt the Chef was doing particularly well. It was a great decision and we had some of the best Sushi dishes we have ever had. In case you are wondering she did not just choose all the most expensive items on the menu. I think our experience was enhanced tremendously by our server. With each dish she placed before us she explained what it was and the best way to consume it. Tremendous experience!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.