We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi does not do justice to the food”
Review of Bamboo Sushi

Bamboo Sushi
Ranked #18 of 4,479 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Bamboo Sushi, we make every decision with the highest regard for this world and the people in it. From transparency in how we source our food to reducing our carbon footprint to enriching the communities we live in; our mission is to change the way people eat, inspiring a shift within the restaurant industry and beyond. Everything you eat has an impact — It’s time to know yours.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Sushi as in rice topped with fish is not what this place is about. Imaginative rolls of tasty seafood along with great tasting appetizers like miso mushrooms and eggplant are the base of this menu. Nigiri is an afterthought after looking at the menu. Besides,can afford to skip a Wagyu 1/2 pound burger (sushi restaurant?). Ok, the nigiri is pretty good too but the rolls are what you will crave for a return visit.
Expect to wait for a seat at dinner time but it is worth the time.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gyw8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2016

The best true Japanese food I've eaten since visiting Japan. They even had fried chicken, which I loved in Japan.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank slarty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2016

We went for dinner, and it was very dark, but the sushi was very natural tasting, and delicious. However, the Yakisoba was a little bit too salty. They also have mostly friendly waitresses, and the decoration of the restaurant was very japanese. Recommended....

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elyse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

Heard about Bamboo on Tripadvisor and was planning a trip to Portland. We made reservations at Bamboo and we not disappointed. My husband who swears that he hates Sushi actually ate and loved every minute of the meal. The waiter was one the best. Made suggestions along our way. This is a definite must for anyone who lives in or is visiting Portland

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

It's only a few places in the United States where you can eat Sushi and have it 100% sustainable. Bamboo Sushi is one of those places.
I had the salmon sampler, the Alaska Coho salmon is tops in my book. A little loud on a Saturday night but the food is great.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank sleepyhead8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.