We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sustainably sourced, fresh sushi”
Review of Bamboo Sushi

Bamboo Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Bamboo Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sustainably sourced, fresh sushi”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Dedicated to the sustainability, this restaurant has a lot to offer. Ask for the specials. They generally include locally sourced sashimi and sushi which are the freshest I have ever tasted. Word has it that the burger is pretty good too, but I generally go a few blocks away, to Dick's Kitchen for a great burger. Only open for dinner, but their happy hour is great and starts at opening. Just check the website as their hours change with the seasons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeriLou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    63
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Was only average and not quite authentic”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The signature rolls were rather average and pricey for the size it came in. The seafood plates were really small appetizers, not really fresh and definitely not a meal by itself. Overall, food was average and pricing rather high for the quality and quantity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Su8108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool, friendly and great food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our daughter has turned us on to sushi - me of the I-don't-eat-raw-fish set. And this was our best sushi experience yet! The 50 minute wait went by pleasantly with a glass of wine. (The engaging hostess warned me off the Oregon malbec for a Californian barbera, excellent advice.) And they sat us at the sushi bar at the back. Very cool to watch masters make their rolls and other delicacies. The music was my daughter's dream playlist and the atmosphere was friendly while upscale in a Portland gore-tex and bearded sort of way. The restaurant prides itself in its sustainable practices. Oh yeah, and the food was scrumptious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDELL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Sustainable, delcious”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recommend their happy hour. It's less crowded and more relaxed. The line gets long, but the food is always fresh, the wait staff knowledgeable, and the ambiance nice though busy and a little loud.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi experience ever”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I'd wanted to impress a business associate/mentor, who loves Japanese cuisine, so I yelped and googled and trip advisored my little heart out looking for just the right place. This came up over and over again. The night we went was super busy, but the service withstood it.

The food is *supremely excellent*.

I've since been back many times, mostly with colleagues who joined us that one fated night. One of which was from Seattle and who makes a point of coming back there both directions as they pass through town every time.

The downsides are: We've always had a wait, and the tables are cramped and tiny. Still worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing