We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute MUST DO!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour

Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 95 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This Free Comedic Walking Tour is currently up and running every day at 11am! For a full schedule of the 2016 tour season, please see the "Tour Calendar" page of our official website. The last tour of 2016 will be on Tuesday, October 4th. After that the tour will be seasonally closed until May 1st, 2017. Think of the tour as stand up comedy about Portland's weird and wacky history and culture. Sure to have you laughing the whole way through, this is without question the most entertaining walking tour in town! Come find out why local comedian Erik Kennon's Free Walking Tour is so much more fun than one that costs $20 up front! The Free Tour starts everyday at 11am on the sidewalk of SW 6th Ave in front of Pioneer Courthouse (across the street from Pioneer Square and the Visitor Information Center.) No reservation necessary! Just show up! The tour meets 7 days a week, rain or shine :-) Look for Erik, who will be wearing his signature neon green "Free Tour" t-shirt. The tour is about 2hrs long and ends in front of Voodoo Donuts, Chinatown, and the Saturday Market. You'll receive insider tips on restaurants and nightlife, and lots of photo ops! Your guide works for tips- you can be assured of the highest quality!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute MUST DO!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I joined this walking tour just after he had completed his intro and info on the initial stop - but he was very warm and welcoming, not on to me, but to others who joined along the way!

He was very knowledgeable and entertaining -- he took time to be sure everyone heard him and involve everyone in the conversation.

Even if he were to begin charging $20+ for this tour - it would be SOOO worth it. I look forward to a return visit to Portland and another tour with Eric!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blb6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    62
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Fun and informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a great time on Eric's tour! We've been on lots of city tours that are either mostly corny jokes or dry facts (who really cares how much the Seattle space needle weighs???) But Eric's tour was a great combination--really funny but true facts about Portland's history and culture, and just a few cheesy jokes thrown in for flavor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time Portland visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

While visiting Portland with friends, we were directed by the visitor's center to Eric's free tour of the city. What a great find! Eric was thoroughly entertaining. He kept the entire group laughing through his entire two hour tour and even managed to share his historical knowledge of Portland in between jokes. I would highly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Portland. Although advertised as free, Eric mentions donations at the conclusion of the tour. I contributed, like most everyone did. He deserved it. He put on a great show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASON CITY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Free City tour ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading the great reviews we decided that we would try this free tour. We do not always like walking around in groups and listening to Boring standard facts. Lucky for us this was not that boring tour. Eric really was as goofy and funny as other reviews say. We enjoyed the 2 hours with him and laughed at his cheesy jokes. I would recommend to friends to do this if they have time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scramblerracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great overview -- worth the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Eric offers a fun free walking tour of Portland. He does a nice job sharing the heart of the city and historic district. He's full of tips and suggestions of what to do next and he does a fun job exposing the eclectic and odd side of Portland. He's full of jokes, sometimes alittle canned, but this is a free tour (tip welcome and absolutely encouraged given his efforts) so the price is perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank randyfrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing