We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see in Portland”

Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 110 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Your tour guide will always be Erik. He always wears a Neon Green Shirt. Beware the competitor walking tour company that stands next to Erik with a "Free Tour" sign- If the guide isn't Erik in a neon green shirt, you don't have the right tour. The Tour Is Currently Up And Running! From May 5th until September 30th, 2017, there will be a Free Tour of Portland every single day of the week at 11am. On Labor Day weekend (Fri Sept 1st, Sat 2nd, Sun 3rd,) there will be an additional afternoon tour at 2:30 pm. The afternoon tour meets at the same meeting point and is the same material. Please see the "Tour Schedule Summer 2017" if you have any questions about tour times. Think of this tour as stand up comedy about Portland's weird and wacky history and culture. Sure to have you laughing the whole way through, this is without question the most entertaining walking tour in town! Come find out why local comedian Erik Kennon's Free Walking Tour is so much more fun than one that costs $20 up front! The Free Tour starts everyday at 11am on the sidewalk of SW 6th Ave in front of Pioneer Courthouse (across the street from Pioneer Square and the Visitor Information Center.) No reservation necessary! Just show up! The tour meets 7 days a week, rain or shine :-) Look for Erik, who will be wearing his signature neon green "Free Tour" t-shirt. The tour is about 2 to 2.5 hrs long and ends in front of Voodoo Donuts, Chinatown, and the Saturday Market. You'll receive insider tips on restaurants and nightlife, and lots of photo ops! Your guide works for tips- you can be assured of the highest quality!
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see in Portland”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The tour is funny and very informative. Things I learned, I appreciated the rest of my stay in Portland. Erik is a very funny and friendly tour guide who made it worthwhile. Very highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank charleyb418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    65
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Entertaining and informative”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A lively, entertaining, and informative tour. Highly recommend Erik's tour. He took us to parks, landmarks, voodoo donuts, bubblers and plenty of other cool spots. The tour lasted about 1.5hrs and was at a comfortable pace even for children.

Helpful?
Thank Tman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawi, HI
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Funny Guide!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

He had me laughing so hard with all his levels of humor about silly subcultures to preposterous people and places. Our guide told us about the underground history of the city which is so much more interesting than the logging/ pioneer stuff you here about all over the NW.
People walking down the street would join our group and drawn in by the outrageous story being told. There were even people from Portland who never knew some of the stuff our guide was saying. Highly recommend it! We'll see this guy on the Travel Channel I'm sure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MulchD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good overall look at town”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had not found this walking tour listed until the day we arrived in Portland. We hustled to the meeting area in hopes of finding the guide only to have him find us. While he is not a "street performer", the concept of working for a tip sometimes worries us. We have, at times, stopped to watch a street performer put on a simple show only to have him barrage us with reminders that he works for tips - and then the "suggested amount" we are told at the end of the show is something outrageous. Our guide was not pushy at all with this. His sights he shared were interesting as were the perspectives he offered. He also did a very nice job of "sending away" one of the many homeless people who charged our group with the proposition of buying a newspaper printed to help raise money for the homeless. It could have been handled rudely but he handled it well. We definitely enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this tour to others. I'm sure others will feel as comfortable leaving as "fair" of a tip as we did.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gumgumgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
1 review
“A Great Tour”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

While visiting Portland with my sister-in-law, I took the Secrets of Portlandia Free Walking Tour. I found it to be everything I had expected and more. In an hour and a half, we saw all the major sights in downtown Portland, learning about the history behind these sights as we went along. Erik is a friendly, amusing, and well-informed tour guide. He welcomed our questions and kept us laughing a good deal of the time. He doesn't pressure anyone for money: you can give what you want or nothing at all! I highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Portland.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Secrets Of Portlandia Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing