We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Portland
Ranked #122 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Oregon coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible place”
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Very dirty with major stains, splatters, and smears on walls, carpet, doors, and windows. Holes in sheetrock walls with torn wall paper. Broken entry doors that did not open and required us to walk all the way around the building to get to our room. The door to our room would not open and required someone to come up and force it open for us. This place is way overdue for cleaning and refurbishing. It is misleading to give it a rwo-star rating as Priceline does. It really does not even deserve one star. Staff was completely unapologetic.

  • Liked — Near PDX airport
  • Disliked — It was filthy and in disrepair
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    27
    35
    73
See reviews for
51
27
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This is by far the absolute worst place I have stayed at in the past 25 years! Straight out of a movie... what a dive! just the prostitutes missing out front! The room was filty... plain and simple!! A musty/moldy odor was everywhere. This motel needed renovations badly 20 years ago... the bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever. The pillows were about the equivalent of folded over towels and stained at that! Filth and stains (your guess is as good as mine as to what they are??) were everywhere I looked. We tried for hours to get a room elsewhere, but everything was booked solid. Please... don't let the cheap price lure you in... it's not worth it! Don't stay here it stinks big time! Literally.. it does!

  • Liked — Check out
  • Disliked — The stay
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from this dive!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manbytheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Sunnyvale, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

When I first entered my room, I smelled carpet glue. Either the carpet or the linoleum in the bathroom had recently been replaced, but I couldn't tell which because neither was outstanding. I was able to clear the smell by opening the window. The wallpaper was old and scruffy and the paint on the walls was scratched in places. The wiring didn't conform to code -- the bed lamp cord ran into a hole drilled in the wall, then back out of another hole near the outlet. The doorframe had a chunk torn out of it where the chain attached, as if it had been ripped out at some time in the past. The tub was tilted so that water ran around the rim and onto the floor, which might explain the need for new linoleum. The television was set up incorrectly so that it only received about half the channels listed on the channel chart. The remote control was from a different brand, so I could not fix the problem.

I woke up with a sore neck and back.

I incorrectly assumed that the "Travelodge Portland Airport" would have a shuttle to the airport. Oops. Cab fare was only about $11.

  • Liked — Decent water pressure
  • Disliked — Run-down room.
  • Tips/Secrets — They don't have a shuttle to the airport.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Orthonormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 7, 2004

The Evergreen is old and does need some repairs, however I found the staff delightful and willing to be very helpful. I guess that about one third of the rooms are having some major renovations done! We will be back to try them out. P.S. We were just at the hotel a couple weeks ago and I could not detect any mold or mildew smell.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2004

as someone who has stayed there under the old management, then more recently the new, all i can say is the new management doesn't hold a candle to the old! the old group (people from india) were courteous, quick to attempt to fix mistakes, and make the stay as pleasant as possible.

as for the new management, they are rude, immature, and blame all the problems they are having on the old management and maintenance. i know for a fact the former maintenance guy was superb! always ready to help!

yes, the place does smell moldy!! nasty!

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2004

This is a "no frills" motel but not "stinky" as one reviewer stated. There were six of us in four rooms. Some rooms needed repairs and some had more amenities than others, but the rooms were clean and smelled fine. We were told that prior to the current management taking over, the motel was pretty run down and they are in the process of restoring it. Our main complaints were insufficient towels, no cups in some of the rooms, the ice machine was broken, and the air conditioner in the office was not working the day we arrived. The temperature that day was near 100 degrees. However, the air conditioners in the rooms worked great!

Helpful?
1 Thank Olelady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2004

This place stinks! No really it smells real bad in the rooms. Kind of like rotton moldy something! The window was sealed shut and they had some kind of air filter machines bolted to the dresser. The problem was if you turned on the bathroom light with the filter on all the electric went off. When we went to complain about it the guy at the front desk was to busy playing cards on the computor to be bothered to fix it! Also, I had to give them my atm card when we checked in as a deposit. We paid with cash when we left and were told that they never charged anything to my atm card. When I got home iI looked up my atm account and found that they had charged the entire amount of my bill to my card even though i paid cash! I am trying to get a refund from them right now.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#98 of 142 in Portland
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#96 of 142 in Portland
307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#61 of 142 in Portland
148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Portland

Property: Red Roof Inn Portland
Address: 3828 NE 82nd Ave, I-205, Columbia Blvd/Sandy Blvd, exit 23, Portland, OR 97220-5038 (Formerly Travelodge Portland Airport)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Portland is conveniently located on northeast 82nd Avenue, off I-205 in beautiful Portland, OR. This hotel is close to many of Portland’s scenic attractions including the Grotto National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother, Multnomah Falls, Columbia River Gorge and Mt. Hood. If you prefer more of an urban experience other nearby attractions include Woodburn Premium Outlets, Washington Square, the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry and the Oregon Convention Center is only 6 miles away. Red Roof Inn Portland offers an outdoor pool, business center and conference room with a flat-screen TV and White Board (seats 30). All comfortable guest rooms feature free WiFi and flat-screen TV. Select rooms also offer a microwave & refrigerator, in-room coffee and large 37” flat-screen TV. ADA Accessible rooms and plenty of free parking is available for all travelers. Enjoy free coffeehouse style coffee & tea in the lobby. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing