We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump? This place gives dumps a bad name”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portland Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dump? This place gives dumps a bad name”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Needed a place to stay on way to Oregon Coast a few weeks back....69 dollars a night for a small motel close to the freeway seemed ok. Took almost 30 minutes to check in.....clerk/owner asked for my drivers license 3 times during check in. The last time I would not give it to him....he said room was already charged to my card....no refunds etc. I gave him license again...another 10 minutes before I finaly got key card. Went to room..opened door...and stale smoke smell almost made me pass out. Room was in a shambles...carpet old and tattered....bed was lumpy...sheets were once white now grey...you get the idea. The people that own and or run this dump should be totally ashamed of themselves....people expect at lease half way decent lodging for 70 bucks.....I will never ever stay there again for any reason.

Room Tip: Stay away. Sleep in your car. Sleep in city park. ANYTHING is better then this rip off place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the outside it looks like it just may be "ok" I stepped into the room, to find absolutely filthy old ripped carpets with only lord knows what all over it. The walls have holes in them and the trim was falling off in multiple places, I found cigarette ashes on shelves in the bathroom area and I don't even want to know what the many spots were on the curtains.
This place honestly felt like a motel room in a scene from CSI, the cops would walk down the long balcony listen to the door and then bust it down to find the drug dealer or hooker..mind you I'm pretty certain I saw a girl leave a room who was "working". $65 was way too much for a room that isn't even provided with a small bottle of shampoo and conditioner! This place was a last resort since no other hotels had rooms. Next time I'll just sleep in my car.
Disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jae-n-piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Seaside, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

No the Cabana Motel is not new, probably considered seedy by some. However, for the price it is a good value. As a single older woman and alone I felt safe there. It may be an older place but it is clean. The front desk people were very friendly as well as helpful. I have stayed there numerous times over the last 4 years. Both alone and with my elderly mother and we had no problems. We both felt safe. I have never had problems with any bugs there. If your looking to impress, then it's not for you. If you want a safe, friendly and helpful place to stay, it will work. They offered free coffee in the morning along with pastries. I have no complaints about the Cabana Motel. I was looking for a clean, safe and inexpensive place to stay, it fit the bill perfectly. Thank you Cabana Motel! I always enjoyed my stay there. You made me feel welcome every time I have stayed over the years

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need, they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota/Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

After staying here for one night I was covered in itchy bites and I am sure it was bedbugs. Now I have to wash everything that I took in there with me to prevent infesting my home. I am understandably pretty angry about this. The hotel is dirty and run down. I should have known it was a mistake to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#98 of 141 in Portland
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#61 of 141 in Portland
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#92 of 141 in Portland
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#66 of 141 in Portland
869 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Value Inn & Suites

Property: Portland Value Inn & Suites
Address: 1707 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-5603 (Formerly Cabana Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portland Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Portland Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing