We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the budget traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nordic Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for the budget traveler”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nordic Motel was a most pleasant surprise. Probably not for those who require elegance, it is definitely a star for budget travelers. This motel has been completely renovated, inside and out. It is clean, fresh, spacious and comfortable.

It is not particularly convenient to downtown Portland, but doable, and it is near the airport. Morning coffee is available in the lobby where you may be greeted by the very personable owner. We are glad to have found this nice little locally owned motel during our road trip through the Pacific Northwest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BSA1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    115
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
74
126
41
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We took two rooms as we were two couples traveling together and both rooms were very clean and updated. WiFi signal was strong and fast. Beds were comfortable. Shower was very nice...in hotels, often shower heads are dingy and gross. Towels were thick and soft. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSpudd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Clean and newly renovated. Close to the airport as well as an easy drive to the eclectic parts of Portland. Front desk was very accommodating and they have very good coffee. We enjoyed our stay the first time so much that we stayed there on our way back to the airport. Unexpectedly awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GooberDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

As advertised.
Clean.
Everything works well.
Lots of good cable channels on the crystal clear flat screen TV.
WiFi is fast and included in the FAIR rate.
Standards are high and value is well documented by other reviewers.
We second that emotion and recommend Nordic Motel unreservedly.
well done, Jay! 'Top of the class'

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place is very clean and tidy. We were very pleased that the room has a nice set up. We went with the two bedroom because it was only a few dollars more. The beds are separated by a room so there is more privacy. The people were also very friendly and kind. The parking is also very nice because it is directly in front of all the rooms. I definitely know where I'm staying next time I'm in the PDX. The beds are also very comfortable and the two bedroom comes with a kitchen. There is a refrigerator, microwave, sink, and dining table.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This motel looks modest but has all the amenities needed for a stay in Portland at an exceptional good rate. The room was sparkling clean and had a full kitchen so I was able to save on food costs during my three day visit. The complementary coffee is excellent, the room was well lighted, the outlets were plentiful, the bed was perfect, and the room even came with an easy chair. I will return here the next time I come back to Portland.

Room Tip: If you book your room directly with the motel, you will get a better rate, the owner (Jay) told me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 623David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

As two young ladies, we were very comfortable in this room. It was very clean. Had a flat screen TV, microwave, mini fridge, and table & chairs (2). Everything seemed rather new. It was a small room with the sink in the general room, and a separate room for the toilet and shower/tub. Because of the size, I recommend this room for only a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jolecia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
7.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
7.9 mi away
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 141 in Portland
712 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#14 of 141 in Portland
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Inn and Suites

Property: Nordic Inn and Suites
Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Inn and Suites is a diamond in the rough. Because of it's central location, strong amenities, and quality in decor, this charming Inn is the perfect place for a single night, or even an extended stay for business or pleasure. Located less than 4 miles from Portland International Airport and just 10 miles from downtown Portland, Oregon, Nordic Inn & Suites is also within 45 minutes of the world-class outdoor adventure of Mount Hood and the Columbia River Gorge making Nordic the perfect choice to accommodate a wide assortment of travel plans. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience, which is why we say our goal is to be "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nordic Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing