We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nordic Inn and Suites
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay. Its a little motel but is super nice and clean. The rooms are big, clean and it makes you feel like you are at home. The staff is super nice and f friendly. Stayed here based on the reviews and it did not disappoint at all it's a small family owned Motel and its only 5 minutes away from that Airport andnot to far from downtown Portland. We stayed here three days next time we come back this is were we will stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank SDAndrew619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the suite and it was very cute and by far the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. The owners, as mentioned, were terrific.

I have to note a couple of things, however. In the fully kitchen there are no dishes or pots and pans, and there is a note on the wall that they can provide paper plates, cups etc. If I was staying here for more then a day, I would need to cook , so for future I would bring my own pot, pan etc. There is no mention of this on the reservation information. When my husband went up to the front desk, they did not have any paper plates . available.

Also, I understand that the $20.00 deposit you give them on checking in, is typical of a lot of hotels and motels, but we had no idea we had to do this, so the $20.00 was not something I had anticipated and something I had not budgeted. We had already prepaid for the room.

Other then that, it was a great experience and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If booking the kitchen suite, bring own dishs, pots and pans and silverware..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on the reviews and it didn't disappoint!

We turned up on a Friday afternoon and got a 'double' double room for $94. The room was huge: had 2 comfy double beds, a huge fridge, stove with an oven, microwave, sink and cupboards. There was also a clean bathroom with a: toilet, sink, a small bath with shower over it. Everything was spotless and smelt clean and fresh.

The location is a good 20 minutes from downtown in a car so bear that in mind if you're thinking of staying here without transport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura_Cariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After looking at the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to stay at the Nordic. It is close to the airport and easy to get to. After arriving, we were not disappointed. Very nice motel. The grounds are nicely landscaped (by the owners) and the rooms are very clean/modern/comfortable. Jay (the owner) gave me a great history of the development of the motel which I found interesting. He spent nearly an hour talking to me about the area, the motel his family and the ownership of the motel.

The price point of the motel makes it a must, you will not find a better value proposition in Portland. Did I mention the rooms are clean?

We usually try to find independent or family owned motels to stay at while we travel. This is one of the best! If you find yourself in Portland looking for something different, this is it!

Room Tip: We didn't have a chance to view different rooms but after staying there I would have to liked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

VERY clean! I prefer to stay here because of the friendly owners and staff...they go out of their way to make you feel welcome :) It is located close to the airport & the shops/restaurants of Cascade Station. Easy access to I-205 and I-84.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trucker142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The only thing bad about this place is the baby ants in the room we saw maybe 7-10 ants. It won't stop me from staying here again. Overall great value for what you get! The owners are awesome!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center great place if your flying out of PDX
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,729 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Inn and Suites

Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $82 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Inn and Suites is a diamond in the rough. Because of it's central location, strong amenities, and quality in decor, this charming Inn is the perfect place for a single night, or even an extended stay for business or pleasure. Located less than 4 miles from Portland International Airport and just 10 miles from downtown Portland, Oregon, Nordic Inn & Suites is also within 45 minutes of the world-class outdoor adventure of Mount Hood and the Columbia River Gorge making Nordic the perfect choice to accommodate a wide assortment of travel plans. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience, which is why we say our goal is to be "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nordic Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing