We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away from this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Portland North
Ranked #113 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay away from this place”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and found it to be in a not so nice area. Lock your car for sure and if you happen to have a Pit-bull leave him in the car.The staff have NO idea as to what customer service is. That's when they staff was there at the desk not outside smoking. The whole building including the rooms reek of stale smoke. There was a sign at the front desk 24/7 pointing to a pager securely affixed to the wall to call for help. That sign was never taken down. They advertise they have a spa (hot tub) but it was always closed 24/7. They also advertise internet access and that was also a joke. Remember dial up? As for the clientele they rent to on a cash basis day to day they are not the neighbors I would want to have. I was there long enough to see what was going on there afterhours. I would not advise anyone to ever stay at this location. There are many safe and clean hotels close by.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
16
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staff very unfriendly and uninterested. That was our first experience with this motel 6.

Bed and bathroom quite clean but carpet, hallways and elevator dirty. Although affordable we would advise you to seek a little further and pay a little more.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in many motels during our Oregon road trip and this one is the worst of all. Stains on carpet in the room, blanket has burned marks, everything is VERY basic - no microwave, no fridge, no hair dryer, no shampoo in the room, no breakfast. You don't want to even getting close to some people we saw in the lobby . Location isn't good either - very noisy from the hwy traffic, surrounded by industrial area, far from everything. STRONGLY not recommend this place,

Room Tip: It wasn't terrible, but we could find a better motel for the same money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am a constant traveler, 30 years worth. Have stayed in everything from 1-5 Stars and less. And More. My assistant had not made a reservation for me, so I found the nearest Motel 6 on my GPS and drove there. Property is located just over the bridge from Vancouver, WA, in northern Portland, OR. First thing which caught my eye was the sign, "Free WiFi". As any regular Motel 6 customer knows, WiFi normally costs $3, for which the customer gets an access code card for use in their room. Here it was free.

Inside the lobby, saw a sign for free morning coffee. LOTS of vending, a very cheap, and good, pair of laundry machines - $1 each, 45 minutes on the dryer - and a clean lobby. Check In was easy, but - and this was a first for me at any Motel 6 - a deposit is charged, in this case, $40. Yes, this brand is typically located in less than stellar areas and the clientele can be a bit, shall we say, shaggy.

My only real complaint upon checking in was the lack of a luggage cart. Rooms access is only through the lobby. There is NO outside access. Thus, having no luggage cart translates into more than one trip for multiple bags. I am disabled and so I was looking at a very tiring scenario. However, the clerk suggested my using a laundry cart, which she brought to me, and which worked well. After that, all was fine.

In the morning, however, things got a little too exciting. Seems that someone played around with the shower head, rendering not only the tub wet, but the entire bathroom as well, including a nice pool on the floor. I was slipping around, trying to hold my balance and eventually did get clean. Checking out, I told the manager, and she and I walked to the room. She watched as I turned on the water. She then summoned the maintenance chief, who did a more thorough inspection and pronounced himself unhappy with the situation. We then returned to the front desk.

Upshot: The manager refunded my entire night's stay, plus my $4 deposit. Service. It is what we pay for, and seldom receive.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

At check in person at desk not friendly or helpful asked for quite room got one with lots of noise,the wifi is included in price not given code ,phone didnt work so had to walk back to desk for wifi code.lots of rules not muck service no sweetner for coffee just sugar no hot chocolate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Travelling South from Canada with two dogs and a large trailer in tow.
Asked for 2 beds,non smoking and pet friendly.
Nice room (103) with ease of access for dogs.
Beds comfy. Room clean and not a bad size. Quiet.
Had to pay extra $10 for second dog.
Towels usual Motel 6 which are kinda thin. Only soap so bring shampoo plus hair dyer.
No restaurants close, but ordered Pizza to room as recomended in room binder. Very good. Hot and fresh.
Parking for bug rig was a breeze.
Girl at check in very efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Traveling through Portland and we decided to stay the night. We just wanted a bed to sleep in. We didn't care about anything else. Hubby and I decided we'd stay at a Motel 6 since it was cheap and nearby. The location seems a bit sketchy, but as soon as we walked in the front door the young lady at the front desk made us feel at ease. Greeted us with a smile and make us feel like we were talking to a long time friend. She was definitely very pleasant to speak with. I should have stopped in the morning to talk to the manager to tell him/her that Alicia needs a raise for how amazing she is! Definitely going to stay here the next time we are in Portland.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logandiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#83 of 141 in Portland
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portland North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland North

Property: Motel 6 Portland North
Address: 1125 N Schmeer Rd, Portland, OR 97217-7507
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland North 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Portland North is located only 3.5 miles from Oregon’s Broughton Beach. Local restaurants and shops are nearby. Play golf at Portland Meadows Golf Course, within 0.5 mile. Free Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Motel 6 Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland
Motel Six Portland
Portland Motel Six
Portland Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing