We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Portland
Ranked #62 of 142 Hotels in Portland
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Like others have written, this is not downtown Portland but the proximity to the MAX system (one short block) makes it an ideal location if you are looking for nice, clean, reasonably-priced accomodations (compared to downtown Portland). Portland's MAX and streetcar system are awesome for getting around all over town. Took MAX from the airport direct to the stop by the hotel -- no need for taxi or rental car. We stayed at the hotel for 3 night and had 4 days in town -- because the MAX and streetcar system is so good we ended up renting a car only for the one day we took a day trip to make the Columbia River Gorge and Mt Hood loop. What we saved on the hotel more than paid for that day's car rental and gas. The room was clean and larger than most, the beds comfy, the breakfast room had a decent assortment, and all three of the front desk people we dealt with were helpful and informative. They had a fat binder of information and directions for getting to places all over town and if they didn't know it were happy to find it on-line and Mapquest it out to let us know the best way to get there by car or public transit. While it is safe to walk from the MAX line at night to the hotel, the location borders on an area where there isn't really anything to do and would not be a place to walk safely... BUT, had no qualms about the location of the hotel itself, tho. And there is a great coffee shop across the street called Elmers if you just want a quick bite -- clean, nice people and great food. Would definitely recommend this hotel it you are looking to save a few dollars on the hotel that can be put towards doing fun things and you don't mind using the MAX and lightrail system.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aj2335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
46
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is a very nice hotel. The neighborhood is a bit shady, but this hotel is safe. They have covered parking and drive through check-in. We got a suite for about $100, which included a kitchenette, king bed, queen sleeper sofa, etc... Everything was very clean, with the exception of the floor. Somehow my white socks became blackened by walking around without shoes. Everything else was very clean though. The breakfast was good and lasts until 9:30, which gives late risers an added half hour to the customary 9:00 cutoff. They have internet here, but it is through ethernet connection only. There is wireless in the lobby. Bring your own ethernet cable because their's is about 3 feet long which doesn't work that well considering the location of the TV and dsl jack.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — Internet configuration
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank duffbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Because it's not in downtown Portland, this hotel is more affordable than most. Still, one can easily hop on the nearby light rail and be in downtown within 20 minutes. As a single female without a vehicle, it was a great place for me to stay as I explored Portland.

Clean, comfortable rooms, very helpful girl at the front desk, and I also liked the breakfast. Yummy biscuits and gravy! I would totally stay here again!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetiestace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed at the Comfort Inn during the first leg of a 10-day trip through the Northwest. I selected the Comfort Inn based on price, proximity to the MAX light-rail station, and the generally positive reviews that other TripAdvisor folks gave. Overall, I was pleased with my stay; the staff was kind enough to let me leave some of my belongings in their office (I arrived two hours prior to check-in). The rooms were big (unexpected surprise), clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good by hotel standards. The location is a mixed bag; it's not in downtown and the surrounding area is not very pleasant, but it is well-lit, safe, and a two minute walk to the MAX station, where in 10 minutes you can be in either downtown or at the airport. Additionally, if you are exploring the Columbia River Gorge (highly recommended), the hotel provides easy access to Interstate 84 which runs to Hood River and The Dalles.

  • Liked — Location (MAX station nearby), price
  • Disliked — Location (nothing in walking distance)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beaufort-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

1) Was a little afraid of the noise from freeway but didn't seem to be a factor. If you must have more quiet ask for a room on the side street. I would avoid rooms facing 82nd.

2) MAX rail line three minutes away. About 25 minutes to Rose Garden and Convenstion center---at both train stops at front door. And going into town can take streetcar (free)
Was comfortable disembarking at this station at night but it is a popular transfer spot so many people around.

3) Felt new, is clean.

4) Ordinary restaurant across street .

5) If coming by car may be a little awkard to get to.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I was pretty impressed by this hotel considering the cost. It was was clean and our room was very nice. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic- it was easy to get around the city and we were close- within 15 minutes- of many city activities. I'd recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank emma2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

In reading reviews of this hotel and reading others comments we decided to book our stay. We wanted a moderately priced hotel with a range of options open to us. During our stay we visited water falls in the Gorge, visited local parks, and used the public transit system (train) located within a 1/4 bock. This allowed easy carefree travel into downtown to botanical gardens, shopping and Saturday Market.
I would have to say that knowing we were going to be coming back to a comfortable hotel each night made all the difference. The hot tub allowed us to soak our tired bodies after a long day. Then end it with free cookies. My husband and I recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahSharebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#100 of 142 in Portland
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#71 of 142 in Portland
884 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#57 of 142 in Portland
161 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Portland

Property: Comfort Inn Portland
Address: 8225 NE Wasco St, Jct. 82nd & I-84, Portland, OR 97220-5784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing