We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty!”
Review of Willamette Valley

Willamette Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.00*
and up
Small Group Willamette Valley Wine and Waterfalls Tour
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Willamette Valley Wine-Tasting from Portland
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Full Day Kayaking Tour of the Willamette Valley
Ranked #5 of 448 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best known for its diverse agriculture, this verdant valley is flanked by the Coast Range and the Cascades.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pretty!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

So many wineries along the many roads, and many of those wineries have places to sit and enjoy the wine and views! We experienced a thunderstorm underneath a covered patio which was exciting!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    150
    24
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Pinot”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went to Domaine Drouhin, Domaine Serene and Ponzi Vinyards and each one was a blast.

I can't tell you how hospitable each winery was to my group and truly seemed interested in everyone they met.

If you're in the area, you must visit Willamette Valley. You won't regret it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffC3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Went to taste Pinot”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a beautiful time to visit Willamette Valley. The Fall folige was breathtaking. McMinnville is where we stayed and it is a very quiet, quaint small town. Nice Main Street with many shops and restaurants. Wine tasting is fun but expensive. Don't expect this to be like Sonoma or even Napa. $20. Per tasting is the norm but sharing is fine. The Pinots are more "elegant" than other areas. This translates into 'lighter" wines. Being a lover of big, bold, peppery wines, I had to tame my pallet. Go with a forewarning and an open mind. The tasting rooms are booming in this area and they are architecturally competitive with most in California. Restaurants seemed more pricey but Oregan doesn't add tax to your bill.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 362lianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend the day”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Willamette Valley is a really nice way to spend a day on your visit to Portland, its a short easy drive and gives you a whole different perspective on this wonderful city. We were in Portland in Oct so it was in its full fall glory! We stopped at a few different wineries and each was wonderful and unique. The first stop was Blakeslee which offered a beautiful view of their vineyard and all the pine trees in the background, really lovely, good wines & friendly. We stopped at Ponzi next and enjoyed some wine outside, it was really charming. Next stop was Alloro which had a garden feel to it. August Cellars was next and the gentleman there was very informative & offered to take us through the barrel room. Last but not least we stopped at Argyle which specializes in sparkling wines a great way to toast our day sampling the great wines Oregon has to offer. Each winery we were at the people were so friendly and recommended other nearby wineries to visit, it really felt like a close knit community which was really nice. We made a last stop at Fir tree Farms for cider donuts & pumpkins! It was a perfect day in the Willamette Valley!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oregon's surprise!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The fabulous thing about Oregon is that it offers a gorgeous coastline with views to die for, as well as Willametter Valley with gracious vineyards and snowcapped mountains! What to choose??? The Valley is graceful and peaceful. The vineyard owners are gracious hosts with a variety of B
&Bs to choose from. We stayed two nights and loved every minute. Oregonians love to serve you great wine and great food. Go see them!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank llgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willamette Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing