We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not My Favorite Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the Convention Center
Ranked #72 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not My Favorite Motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2007

I attended a conference at the convention center and the motel is in a great location if you're there for the same purpose. However, as other travelers have mentioned, it is very noisy on the side of the motel by the light rail. I had trouble sleeping both nights because of the noise. The room was pretty basic and the shower was disappointing-no steady water temperature and poor shower head.
Beds were okay and the room seemed clean. If you're not picky, it's fine, but I'd prefer more comforts.

One side note: The light rail is nice because it's free between certain areas, but if you are traveling alone, I'd advise not to use it at night.

  • Liked — Closeness to convention center
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    83
    41
    66
See reviews for
49
62
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2007

A friend and I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. The price was great, and the service at the desk was excellent, however the room was dreary, outdated and worn. Parking is available, but the spots are limited, so a parking spot is not guaranteed. If the hotel lot is full, you will be referred to a nearby parking lot, and they will work with the hotel so that your charges show up on your hotel bill.
If you are someone that is tired and on a budget, then consider this place for a shower and a nap. If you are someone that enjoys the fun of staying in a plush room with fancy soaps, then this is a place to be avoided. Since we live in Portland and this room was a special treat for us, I was bummed that it was so run down.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shellrazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2007

We have stayed here about 3 times now and have been really happy with the service and quality/comfort of the rooms each time. We were looking for a fairly comfortable budget option in Portland and struggled to find anywhere which looked OK and wasn't too pricey. When we stumbled upon this place, we looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and were a bit wary of booking as there are quite mixed reviews.

However, we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. The beds are really big and very comfortable, the rooms are spacious and it has pretty much everything you would expect/want from an average hotel room. The rooms are a bit worn, with carpets coming away a little and other wear and tear in other parts of the room. However, although a little shabby, the rooms are not at all depressing in the way that some budget rooms can be. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly and are a great source of information about Portland. The MAX is about a 30 second walk and so you don't feel stuck out of Portland. There's also a big mall about 4 blocks away.

So all in all I would highly recommend this place if you need a budget option but don't want to stay in a dive. Apparently this place is going to be knocked down at some point in the next few years no doubt to be replaced with something big and fancy. But until then it's a really sound place to stay.

  • Liked — The price as compared with the room quality and the great staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBritOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2006

We booked our room using Priceline and were prepared to get what we paid for. However, upon arriving, we were pleasantly surprised to find a decent hotel with incredible service. The front desk agent, Zack, was extremely helpful with directions and ideas for fun in Portland. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and his advice proved quite valuable during our time in Portland.
The rooms are dated but clean. Noise is somewhat of an issue, but this can be said of any city hotel.
Next to the great service, perhaps the best part of the hotel is that it is just across the street from Portland's free tram service that will take you into and all over dowtown for free. We didn't have to use our car once!

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svoirfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2006

I've been staying here once or twice a year for the past 4 years and let me tell you, this place is a nice kept little secret. I hope more people don't find out about this place, because then they'll probably raise the rates!

Yes, it is a little dated (read: 1980's !);however, for the location, you WILL NOT find a better price. Trust me I've looked. It's right on the MAX light rail line and minutes from downtown. It's also close to Highway 205 to the Airport or the MAX line to the Airport. Very convenient. It is also right next to the Convention Center (duh!), so there are plenty of amenities nearby.

My advice: Get a non-smoking room on the south side of the building as high as possible for a cool view of downtown at night. All rooms feature large glass walls. Steer clear of the rooms on the north side (Grande St), unless you want to hear the MAX train go by all night!

  • Liked — Great location, very frienly staff, low rates compared to other hotels in the area.
  • Disliked — No balconies and some of the windows are sealed shut in certain rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — For a great view, get a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing downtown and the river!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank knickatknite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

Great location, right by the free MAX train. We basically just wanted a clean room to crash in and did not want to stay at a hostal. This place is old and tacky, and has loud water pipes that woke us up in the morning. However, it had a great staff, was pretty clean, and perfect location. Good for the budget concious.

  • Liked — close to downtown and cheap
  • Disliked — Just old, ugly, rundown.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunny_traveler_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

This is a great place to stay if you want value. We spent very little time in our hotel room - we prefer to be out and about in the city, and to have a clean place to crash at the end of the day. The Inn provided just that. The rooms are clean but not fancy, bed was comfy. Service is limited to vending machines. Great view of the city! The hotel was a bit run down, but the price couldn't be beat ($59/nt).

The hotel is right next to the MAX light rail station, inside the fareless zone (You can travel all over downtown Portland on no fare!). The trip to downtown Portland is less than 5 minutes, and the trip to the airport took 30 minutes. The airport train runs every 15 minutes and the fare is $1.65 from the hotel.

The restaurant adjacent to the hotel is closed, but the Red Lion is right across the street if you're desperate, and downtown is just minutes away.

  • Liked — Close to train station
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dbarnese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 139 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Convention Center

Property: Inn at the Convention Center
Address: 420 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, moderately price, free WIFI, free on-site parking, limited service, interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Hotel Portland
Inn Convention Center Portland
Hotel At

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing