We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Convention Center
Ranked #76 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed January 30, 2006

The Inn at the Convention Center is located right across the street from the Tri-Met and within walking distance of the Convention Center and the Rose Garden so the location is great (love the Starbucks across the street). However, the towels, toilet paper and tissues were like sandpaper - I would highly recommend bringing your own towels if you are going to stay here. The rooms could use a bit of a facelift as well. All in all, a decent value.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Finaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 335 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed August 19, 2005

This place doesn't look much on the outside and it is quite drab inside. But it's incredibly good value. The room was clean and comfortable with nothing to complain about. I don't think it was the most secure hotel I've been in and the elevator took an age to appear. The place could do with a facelift too.

The location is a anonymous and dead at night - surrounded by busy roads. But with the fareless MAX you can be downtown in 5 minutes. Or you can walk across one the bridge and be there in 20 minutes.

One bit of advice: if you have a room facing the MAX it is noisy, with an annoying clunk noise each time a car passes over the rails.

If you aren't looking for luxury and just want a place to crash at the end of the day, then this is a fine base for a night or two. Very good value compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, Maine
17
Reviewed November 27, 2004

Previous reviewer's "Good Value" sums it up... all the previous reviewer's comments were true when we stayed there the end of November, 2004... musty smell, a bit the worse for wear, but good price, near the fareless train, etc.

Very courteous and helpful staff.

Plenty of free parking... however, don't park in the downstairs garage... an Audi next to our rental Corolla was broken into... glass everywhere. Park upstairs next to the check-in office.

Also, apparently there was a bank robbery in the next block... we read in the newspaper the day that the police shot and killed the perpetrator. Scary!! But that's Portland, not the hotel.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2004

Stayed here for four nites at the end of September 2004. Was in a room with two queen sized beds, at the very far end of the floor, away from the elevators (as I requested).
When I drove up, I was worried that I had mistakenly booked into a dive. Once I entered the place and made my way to the room, I was fairly pleased. Room size was large and had a small coffee maker. Hallways had a bit of a musty smell, but the common areas (check in/hallways) were kept spotless. Maid service was prompt, friendly and efficient. As mentioned in other reviews there is a free MAX rail stop both into town and out of town right outside. Just a few blocks away is quick fast food (Burger King/McDonalds) and its 4-5 blocks away from the main shopping center downtown (Nordstroms, etc). No frills at a good price. Free and plentiful parking.

7  Thank victoriabcguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2004

We arrived to find the most helpful clerk at the front desk who gave us a fantastic room (even though we booked through Hotwire) and our room was gigantic with a wall of glass (sliding door) and a great downtown view. The transit was right outside, many restaurants within walking distance and the area was quiet and safe. For the price, you couldn't find a better deal anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JAAntos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Modesto, CA
19
Reviewed August 8, 2003

Stayed there on 7/30/03 and again on 8/2/03. Quiet, clean, and roomy. Nice people at the desk. Right near a light-rail transit system -- free rides from that station to the downtown area. Also close to the Lloyd Center Mall. Our family walked to the mall at night. Good views of Portland from some of the rooms. I highly recommend the Inn at the Convention Center. It's no longer a Best Western, but it's still a fine place to stay.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank chiy0_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#12 of 144 in Portland
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 144 in Portland
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Convention Center

Address: 420 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $112 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, moderately price, free WIFI, limited service, free 24-hour per day lobby coffee, interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Hotel Portland
Inn Convention Center Portland
Hotel At

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing