We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mextiza - CLOSED

Mextiza
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dexter, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The food was excellent .I was expecting ... well -squash enchilada , which I love .
But my sister and husband took me here . Surprise !The Cochinita ( pork) was amazing -yumm.
Also impressive was the tequila selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very bright dishes- Mexican food reimagined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Came here based on good reviews from friends and others. The most impressive experience was the food, which brought powerful, bright flavors to the foreground. We enjoyed the queso fundito, the shrimp ceviche (wow), the Gorditas, and the pork belly sandwich. This sandwich was amazing! The flavors and messy loveliness were off the chart! The prices were reasonable but be prepared to spend as most dishes (the small plates) are a la carte, so it adds up. The service was attentive and kind. We loved this place and will return!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic, creative, delicious Mexican breakfast/brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been wanting to try this new place for a while, and the promise of Chiliquiles brought us in the door. The flavor was delicious throughout, as was our other dish, a mole sauce scramble. Healthy portion, reasonable price, and likable atmosphere and service. Would definitely recommend. They also have a sister location, authentica, on 30th and killingsworth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Higher-end Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is not your typical Mexican food restaurant. The restaurant is located on N. Killingsworth and it is extremely nice. The menu features items from different regions of Mexico, and a daily special. The daily special when we went was Mahi Mahi and it, along with its sauce, was the best item we had. The food overall was very good, as was the service, albeit a little slow. Very busy on a Friday or Saturday, so reservations are recommended. If you are in the area, try it out -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bardod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
397 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cabrito !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tucked away in a suburb of Portland, Mextiza is contemporary and anything but stereotypical Mexican offering authentic Mexican food. Good service, opens late and a pleasant place to hang out.

I was pleasantly surprised to find Cabrito on the menu. The best Cabrito I ever experienced was in a small restaurant in Villa Mercedes, Argentina some years ago. The baby goat (Cabrito) was roasted there right in the restaurant on a spit on an open fire and I still remember the succulent juicy flavorful meat. Mextiza presented their Cabrito Monterrey style and whilst acceptable, for me it didn't match my Argentinian experience as unfortunately it was a little dry and a bit chewy . A must try though if you like meat and haven't had this before.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing