We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lucia
Nearby Hotels
$263
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$177
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$186
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Shilo Inns Portland Airport(Portland)(Great Value!)
$150
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$319
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,482)
Filter reviews
1,482 results
Traveler rating
905
384
127
56
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
905
384
127
56
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial restaurantcraft beergreat locationpenny dinerfree beerboutique hotelrooms are smallhappy hourheart of downtownthe pearlbusiness tripfront desk staffwithin walking distanceroom servicecentral locationbeautiful hotelexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,413 - 1,418 of 1,482 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I travel so much for business and this hotel by far is my fav!!! Kind and accommodating, I look forward to coming back every time. From the front desk staff to the maintenance man who brings me water in the gym, seriously, what else could I want. Imperial is AMAZING with great food and the best drinks and bartenders.

Room Tip: If you want quiet go for inside rooms but I love facing out and watching everyone. Corner suites (the '08') have wrap around windows. Though the bathrooms are smaller in those corner rooms the room makes up for it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank avaelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

We are so pleaseed to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Lucia. As a frequent business traveler you are keenly aware of the difference between hotels that do just enough and those that really perform. We agree, our staff goes above and beyond. Thank you for recognizing their efforts and for chosing the Hotel Lucia.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Lucia for two nights. The location is great with two convenient restaurants on location (The Penny Diner and Imperial Cafe). There is also a Starbucks just around the block on 6th Ave. Bed was very very comfortable. Yes, the rooms are small, but the decor is modern and they are very clean. The staff was great and happily answered all of our questions and offered suggestions for dinner, etc. As other reviewers have advised- use the United Bank parking garage directly across the street. It's cheaper than valet parking ($20/day) and very easy to get in and out of. Would definitely come back to this hotel again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank thatssoboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for the great review and for the solid recommendation of the Hotel Lucia. We appreciate the time spent letting us know how we did. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting Portland.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We adored the Lucia! It was a popular weekend to be in Portland, apparently, as our first and second choices were booked. So we were delighted to find the Lucia! The room was elegant, well-appointed, comfortable, clean, wonderful!

The people at the front desk and the valets were very helpful. The decor in the lobby and on the walls on our floor was great. If you go, check out the interactive art in the lobby. It is a slide show you can touch and double-click!

Highly recommend! If we could, we would in here! LOL

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimkokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

We may not have been your first choice but we hope, after your recent visit, that we will be at the top of the list the next time you visit Portland. We really appreciate the business as well as the excellent review. Thank you.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed there for a week in June 2014, having pre-paid the room through RocketMiles (if you haven't heard of rocketmiles, google it - it's incredible).

We arrived early and were greeted at our car by the valet, who took our bags and whisked them up to our King room. The valet and front desk staff were consistently helpful and friendly during our visit; offering restaurant and area attraction suggestions.

The room was on the 7th floor, facing the street. The size was suitable for two. Features included a very comfortable bed, full minibar, desk, coffeemaker, and flat-screen tv.

The lobby is well-designed and stylish, employing many of the standard features of boutique hotels (a limited color palette, curated art, and well-designed modern furnishings).

The location really could not be more perfect. Hotel Lucia is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. We walked everywhere - all the different shopping districts, the art museum, restaurants, theater, etc.

There are two places to eat attached to the hotel: Portland penny Diner (perfect for morning coffee) and Imperial (an exceptional restaurant and bar with an excellent menu).

A few caveats:
It's important to know what kind of traveler you are to ascertain whether this hotel is suitable for you.

This is an older property so the rooms are not gigantic. The King room we had was perfectly suitable for two people without kids

The bathroom, as others have noted, is small. If you're the type of person who needs a lot of room in the morning, this may not be the place for you.

Noise from the street is no worse than any downtown hotel in any other city.

Hallway noise is a bit worse. Sound carries really easily down the halls and is too present in the rooms at times.

I had two quibbles, personally:
As a boutique hotel, the towels are a disappointment. They really need to upgrade from the Holiday Inn level to a luxe towel maker.

By trade, I'm a lighting designer, so what I found to be incredibly ugly were the hallways. The light fixtures were all outfitted with lamps of very different color temperatures, creating a mish-mash vomit of flourescent, incandescent, and tungsten light. Not exactly what I was expecting from a boutique/designer hotel experience.

In all however, the few minor issues would never prevent me from staying there again. As I said, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review. We truly appreciate the positive recommendation. Thank you for your honest opinion regarding the towels. The Hotel Lucia carries top of the line Marcioni linen and terry in all of our guest rooms. The same linen and terry that you will find in the best hotels in the world, I am very sorry that you found the towels to be less than perfect. We will of course continue to monitor for quality and again, thank you for sharing your honest feedback.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location with a really friendly and helpful staff. Smaller room than I thought I would have (especially for the price) but the feeling of being taken care of at the drop of a hat made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. Am happy to know that our attentive staff more than made up for the smaller room. Of course, we have plenty of different room types. Would be very happy to work with you directly on your next reservation to ensure we match our great service with an equally great room.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews