We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel in downtown Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lucia
Ranked #14 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in downtown Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Excellent service, clean, comfortable, stylish rooms. We ended up getting upgraded to a corner room, which was a nice size. The hotel has a great location, just a few minutes walk to the Pearl District, and numerous dining and shopping options. The staff were friendly and helpful, and provided excellent recommendations for dinner. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris b, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
So happy to hear that you recieved excellent service and that your room was clean and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. Both your review and business are truly appreciated.

Respectfully,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    342
    119
    46
    7
See reviews for
174
527
100
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We flew into Portland and were able to take the MAX public transportation ($2.50) within 2 short blocks of this conveniently located downtown hotel. The check in staff were friendly and offered us a choice of rooms to choose from to meet our sleeping needs. The room was clean, modern and quiet. We loved it. we were able to walk everywhere during our stay. Gourmet restaurants are very close to the hotel. The Little Bird French Restaurant is two short blocks away. We ate there twice because it was so charming and the food was amazing. We have stayed at Hotel Lucia twice and have enjoyed it both times.

Room Tip: We chose a court side room because they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinLaMesa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris b, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your repeat business and for the great review. We truly appreciate your business and your loyalty. Keep us in mind the next time you visit Portland.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Attended a conference as a speaker and this was the hotel the organizers put us in. Overall a nice, modern hotel, with spacious room. Too bad the bathroom is teeny. Ordered room service, and food was delish. The staff was also nice except for this lady at the front desk that looked like she could use a little "joy" - a little standoffish. It always amazes me that a boutique hotel can hire snooty peeps. But since everyone else was friendly, I would consider returning to this hotel for our next visit.

No free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the Room Service food brought to you by the restaurant, Imperial. Yes, please consider the Lucia again the next time you are visiting Portland.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this boutique hotel. I like smaller more intimate establishments. The personal touch is more accentuated and the hotels tend to have more sophisticated personnel. When I asked the front desk for Yoga studios that are walking distance from the hotel, I was given a well informed choices of a few studios. In bigger hotels that is just not happening.

The rooms are great. Like the idea of having original photography in my room and the hallways. It felt like I was in my hometown in NYC.

Next time you to go Portland, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afsaneh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were made to feel at home. Please consider staying with us again the next time you visit Portland. We would be honored to have you back with us again.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortably furnished, clean and well appointed, the hotel was very nicely decorated. The hotel had obviously been refurbished from a former life, but was completely done and the attention to detail showed.

I did not try the restaurant but it looked very tempting.

Free papers in the lobby, free apples (which were delicious) and a well thought out selection of celebrity photos adorned the premises. Free wifi, bathroom and bed room were well stocked and relatively quiet. Slight problem with a noisy neighbour owing to the walls being less sound proof than they could be. I used the valet service, which while expensive, was very efficient.

The hotel is centrally located for a leisurely stroll around the centre of town, close to Nordstrom, and Macy's as well as a good selection of restaurants and specialty shops.

If the prices remain at the rate for which I was able to obtain, then it would most definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank vaguelymovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the business and the great review. We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you visit Portland.

Thanks Again,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Only one night but really enjoyed the hotel. Nicely appointed rooms, great service from the curb to reception. Rooms are small and ours was on the darker side but we only used it for sleeping because the location is so central and close to so much of what makes Portland special. There is a parking garage directly across the street for $20 per 24 hours so we turned down the $37 valet charge and there was no hassle factor finding a spot in the other parkade. No problem recommending this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mydogsnameisdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review and recommendation. Yes, our location is perfect when visiting downtown Portland. I was pleased to hear that the service you encountered was professional and genuine.

Again, thanks for both your business and for the great review.

Respectfully,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
316 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Love this boutique hotel. Downtown Portland. It's a well done renovation of an old building. Very well done. My room was nice. Yes it is small, but well appointed with little touches of luxury. Nice minibar with local treats. Soft towels. Great soap. Trendy bathroom. Hallways full of original photographic art so cool you'll walk all around to see them all!
Very clean. High thread count sheets on a super comfortable mattress with great, fluffy pillows. Super quiet A/C. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
So pleased to get this great feedback regarding our recent renovation. Also appreciate that you noticed the thoughtful touches as we spend a lot of time ensuring that every stay is memorable. The Hotel Lucia is certainly not boring. Thanks for noticing and thanks for your business and positive review.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Property: Hotel Lucia
Address: 400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Business Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#28 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing