We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lucia
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and had a great time!! Great location and the room was nice! The staff was helpful with directions and recommended great bars to try out! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonstate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Congratulations on what sounds like a memorable anniversary celebration. Glad the Hotel Lucia could play such an important part in such an important event. Please consider us for next year. It would be great to have you back.

Respectfully,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ok on this extended trip I have stayed at 4 hotels all on the West Coast. This one by far was the best of them by far.

-The customer service at this hotel is above and beyond. The people at front desk were down to earth, friendly and very efficient. They even helped me with a mail issue, and clothing issue!

-Rooms are perfect. They are laid out well. the halls of the hotel are lined with great b&w images of iconic people. They are clean and quiet. The beds are suppppper comfortable. The blanket that was added on the bottom of the bed was super soft and I slept with just it one night. The bed almost made me want to be lazy in bed all day long!

-Little details like the towels not being 'crunchy' is something that you would notice. They were super soft! Robes in the rooms. You can even order a pint of amazing ice cream to eat in your room!

-Location couldn't be better! Located downtown and close to anything you would ever want or need. Food trucks are surrounding the area as are shops and restaurants.

I liked it and Portland so much I stayed 6 instead of 3 nights!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiddlemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Was pleased to learn that you extended your visit with us. Thank you very much. Also pleased to know that you found our service to be down to earth, friendly and efficient. This, coupled with the fact that you found your room to be perfect, clean, quiet and comfortable? No wonder you extended your visit to Portland.

Thank you for the amazing review. We truly do appreciate both your feedback and your business. Please consider us again should your travels include another trip to Portland.

Respectfully,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

for a short trip it was the best place we could have found to stay. Located in the heart of downtown we were able to walk around town and explore a lot that portland had to offer. The river to all the amazing food carts voodoo doughnuts Nike town. Lots to see in such little time we will be back.

Room Tip: top floor great spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

So happy to know that you spent your one and only day in Portland at the Hotel Lucia. We know you have choices and we are honored to have been your first. Consider us again the next time you visit Portland.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great hotel perfectly located in downtown Portland. The staff and customer service were exceptional. The room was small but quaint with very comfortable bedding and great views. I'd recommend staying here. And the bar downstairs made the BEST MOJITOS!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeCotter726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

My sincere appreciation for not only your business but for your thoughtful feedback as well. Was happy to hear that you found the location of the Hotel Lucia to be so perfect and even happier to learn that our staff was so accomodating. Indeed, the folks at Imperial sure do know how to mix a well crafted drink. Consider coming back.The Mojito's get better as the weather gets warmer.

Regards,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hotel Lucia is a great find in the heart of Downtown. It was a great base to explore Portland. Staff were very welcoming, the room wasn't ready when we arrived but they recommended a food truck nearby, even showing us on a map. Although finding a park with a patch of sunlight to eat was pretty hard, it was a great tip, and helped us get the feel of Portland. We were travelling with a dog and though I loved the bed, bowl, treats and toy they provided, and I was bemused by the bottled water and dog spirituality guide, I would rather have a place nearby the hotel to take my dog to the bathroom for the $45 charge. We had a slight issue with construction work noise when we checked in but the staff promptly moved us to a nicer room. Although in both rooms the bathrooms were very small. If you want a quieter room opt for a courtyard room, but don't be startled by the cardboard cut out man the office opposite put up in the window! For parking I tried feeding the meter on the street - but by the second day I gave up and used the cheap parking across the street, it wasn't that much more expensive and was a lot easier. The in suite local ice cream was expensive but very indulgent and delicious, great for a late-night snack or dessert.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoldsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to provide us with a review. I appreciate the kind words regarding our helpful staff and great location. Traveling with pets can be challenging, especially when you aren't familiar with the city. Needless to say, grass is sometimes hard to come by. Was also happy to learn you enjoyed the Salt and Straw Ice Cream. Very delicious.

Please consider us again if you ever find yourself back in Portland. If would be our pleasure having you as our guests.

Respectfully,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My last visit to Hotel Lucia, in October 2013, was a very rushed and quick visit around a business trip and mini-conference. This recent visit, I also came for business, but also spent the weekend with my wife. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lucia. The staff was fantastic, and we loved the room. The best was the location - great spot to explore the fun surrounding area. A two minute walk to all of the amazing food trucks for which Portland is famous. Powell's bookstore is a short walk away, as is many of Portland's finest breweries and brew pubs. The waterfront area is really close and perfect for a morning run. If you are staying here, there really is no need for a rental car - everything is within walking distance, and you can take the light rail, which is about three blocks away.
This was a great visit, and we will surely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulTheTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Great news and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to know that you were able to combine a little work with a little play. The location is great for either, as you point out. I agree, our staff is fantastic.

Again, thanks for both the business and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to having you back.

Respectfully,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A near perfect experience. The friendliest staff EVER (Tyson, Amy especially). I have been to multiple Four Seasons and nothing even comes close to the service here. It was our first trip to Portland and we found the location perfect. We did not need the rental car we had obtained. The bathroom was slightly on the small side but other than that the entire experience was sparkling. And the value was superb.

Room Tip: Unless you are planning an excursion outside of the city you will not need a rental car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

What a great endorsement. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I was particularly pleased to hear about the gracious and professional manner in which you were cared for and I promise, I will share your kind words with the entire team. They deserve all of the credit.

Please let us know the next time you are in Portland. It would be our honor to have you as a return guest.

Respectfully,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 144 in Portland
2,232 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Address: 400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Business Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#28 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $177 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing