We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, Loud, and Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McMenamins White Eagle Saloon and Rock & Roll Hotel
Ranked #69 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lively, Loud, and Fun”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I booked a room at this guest house because it was the cheapest accommodation I could find in Portland that still seemed hospitable. I got much more than I bargained for! The building is full of charm and character, and it's really easy to get to many key Portland locations. There is live music coming up through your floorboards until about 2am, but that just adds to the experience. The bathrooms are shared and the rooms are small, but for a solo traveller keen on adventure it was perfect. The accommodations are clean and comfortable, and every room has its own "theme." The staff is friendly and the food and drinks downstairs are solid.

I don't recommend this place to families or people who like to get to bed early, but I would absolutely stay here again myself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
40
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I came down from Vancouver for a last minute get away trip and thought we would be able to find a place to stay anywhere. Needless to say, there was nothing available other than flophouses due to a massive parade and 2 battleships in port. After staying one night at a Courtyard Marriott, we tried to find something with a bit more personality since Portland is known for it, and came across the McMenamins hotels. After a shot in the dark and a "why the hell not" mentality we booked the last private room available.

For a cost of $65 we got a perfect little room, it was clean, overlooked the patio, with a nice large window with a little sink in the corner, old boarding room style, AND it includes free cover to the shows downstairs. Although it's shared bathrooms, they are in their own individual rooms (same as the showers), and it was never an issue for us to get up and walk the 20 feet from the room to the bathroom. After thinking about where to eat dinner, we stumbled across the Gotham Tavern just around the corner which was fantastic! Coming back to the bar, it was a great way to wrap up a fantastic weekend, munching on warm pitas and hoummus, drinking a Rainier and watching a jumpin' band. Their patio is also amazing, it was so wonderful to have a beer and a real bonfire pit at nighttime in the city. Mississippi Ave is just up the way and whawt a jem that area is! Great breakfast joints and to enjoy a sunny day to boot.

Have to be honest, the beds are a little soft for my taste, but either way, for the cost AND the free cover, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationAddict2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My friend and I were in Portland for a concert at the Roseland. We wanted an affordable yet respectable place to stay, and we felt like we got just what we needed. We slept in a bunk room which had two bunk beds, a table, and a sink. The only inconvenience for us was that you had to walk down the hall to use the toilet or shower, which were in their own respective rooms; that didn't bother us at all. The only real bummer was that our concert ended around midnight and the bar at the hotel closed at 11, so we missed catching any more live music. To add to the appeal of the White Eagle, the Widmere Brewing Company has a pub just 1-2 minutes walk down the street. We had an easy walk across the river into downtown, an acclaimed brewery across the street, a cozy place to sleep, and plumbing. All for $45? It's a deal.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGuy4804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The bar downstairs is awesome, the only problem was that it closed at 11pm on Sunday night which was the only night we stayed there. Otherwise if you don't mind walking a bit, there's a lot of cool stuff up on Mississippi which isn't too far from the hotel. Our room was a quiet spot at the end of the hallway, it had a little sink and a pretty good amount of natural light. The hotel itself was a bit spooky, creaky, I'm pretty sure our sink in the room turned on in the middle of the night, so it very well may be haunted or something. Overall I would stay there again, the area, vibe and prices are right, especially for the sort of experience I enjoy when I go to Portland. The shared bathrooms are a bit strange, the toilets are not attached to the shower rooms and there were only 2 toilets and 2 showers for our entire floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We spent one night in the 'White Eagle Hotel'. The room was small, without any window. The air-conditioning was very loud and didn't cool down at all, the temperature was too high and the air was too dry. I could not sleep very well because of the mentioned points, but this may have also been related to my terrible jetlag at that time. There was no bathroom included in the room, we had to use the communal bathroom, but it was clean.

The staff was very nice and how cool is it actually if the barkeeper does the check-in for the rooms? :-)
In my opinion, the music from downstairs wasn't too loud either.

The atmosphere in this hotel is very unique and it's very good valued, therefore it was worth a visit and definitely no wrong decision, but i would not recommend to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeR1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My mom and I stayed in a bunk bed room and loved it. The rooms are small but room for what you need. It's nice that you can take drinks from the bar too. Live music everynight, so not a quiet place until midnight or so.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank january24_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

It's an interesting hotel and for sure not for everyone!! If you are a light sleeper you shouldn't come here, it's true what a lot of people say, the rooms are apparently not very well sound isolated and downstairs is the bar with live music!! BUT, the hotel is cute, it feels kind of old, but they decorated the rooms very nicely and I think all are a little different! The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean!! Every room has a little sink in the room, but the washrooms and showers are outside. The washrooms and shower very clean too and the shower I used was also pretty big and colourful (with small mosaics).
The only thing about the room what I didn't liked (but may be the other rooms are a little different) was, that there wasn't a real window (just one at the roof, but u couldn't open it) and it was sooo hot in the room and I actually haven't found any air condition (I mean actually I haven't even looked for it, cause I don't like A/C).
The service was quite ok too. I could check in easy and the girl was very friendly!
The location might not be the best, but it's very close to the public transit and you are in downtown portland in around 10 minutes. And right next to the hotel is the Widmer brewery.
So it's a nice hotel and for the price it's amazing, but keep in mind it's for sure not for everyone, so before you go there, decide for yourself if you mind loud music, small rooms and washrooms down the hall!! If yes come here!! If no don't go there and write a bad review afterwards!! ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaHamburg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 141 in Portland
545 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#42 of 141 in Portland
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McMenamins Kennedy School
#33 of 141 in Portland
582 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins White Eagle Saloon and Rock & Roll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins White Eagle Saloon and Rock & Roll Hotel

Property: McMenamins White Eagle Saloon and Rock & Roll Hotel
Address: 836 N Russell St, Portland, OR 97227-1732
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your McMenamins White Eagle Saloon and Rock & Roll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins White Eagle Saloon And Rock And Roll Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing