We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent coffee roaster and shop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Cup Coffee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
World Cup Coffee
Ranked #102 of 206 Coffee & Tea in Portland
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee roaster and shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I always have a difficult time deciding on where I want to settle down for a coffee or tea, especially in Portland. I cannot claim to have a very discerning taste in coffee, and while I feel I can differentiate between good and bad, I do not necessarily dislike any type of coffee bean/tea leafed concoction. That being said, I feel that World Cup does an excellent job with their coffee roasting, done in same building as the coffee shop here in Portland’s lovely Alphabet District. I can always find a spot to sit down with my book or computer to enjoy my beverage and the general atmosphere is always unhurried and friendly. They also have some beer selection, which is also appreciated- sometimes coffee just doesn’t cut it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This little coffee shop was larger than expected. They had a good variety of drinks for customers to pick from. There were also some books and games to entertain yourself and friends with during a relaxing afternoon.

Coffee was good and didn't taste burnt or bitter. Their baristas also treated everyone like long time customers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Close to the Hostel and tasty coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The coffee and staff here are both quite good. Over my stay, I had two different danishes, and they were also very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Coffee at the Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

World Cup supplied the coffee for the Hostel across the street. What a great way to wake up!! Super nice coffee, thanks!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
414 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“First class treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was a stop on my pedal bike tour of Portland. I think we met the owner Dan who gave us a tour of the store including the roasting machines and how they process all those great coffee beans. It was very interesting and was ended with a cup of coffee. Awesome way to start the morning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thedevelopingimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Cup Coffee also viewed

 

Been to World Cup Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing