We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza and Bar!!”
Review of Oven and Shaker

Oven and Shaker
Ranked #121 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pearl
Description: Wood-fire Oven + Craft Cocktails in the Pearl.
Akron
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza and Bar!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Read about this place and just had to visit - twice. Excellent thin crust pizza - had ours with Fennel sausage and toped with duck egg - outstanding! Bar service was excellent with drinks of exact proportions. Extensive wine and local beers. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UncommonWiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    85
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were a family group of 10 -- all ages -- marrieds, single adults, one teenager, two children and an infant-- arriving at 4:30 pm for a very early meal. We ordered wine, one cocktail, lemonades and sodas, 7 pizzas, 2 salads, 3 desserts. The salads were decent. The pizzas were okay, but not great. The brownie was mediocre at best. When the first of the group arrived, the gentleman who greeted us was not pleasant. There was no high chair for the baby who had to be held the entire time. The older children, all of whom were very well behaved and are accustomed to eating out, tried to order "Shirley Temples" but there was no grenadine. While the waitress was very nice, the man who greeted us and the entire experience left a lot ot be desired. Frankly, with so many really fine restaurants in Portland,this is one place to which I will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great neigborhood, Super Piacci”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I ate lunch here this past Monday. We were the second folks seated as it was just past 11:00. We were warmly greeted an drink orders taken. The food order was taken shortly after but there was a lengthy wait for the soup and sandwich orders we made. The special was a piacci (sandwich on ficaccia ) that included lamb meatballs. It was great. My wifr enjoyed her portobella sandwich as well. The mushroom soup was the downfall. The flavor was weak and the soup was floating in a sea of oil. Despite the soup it was an enjoyable time at O and S and we will probably try again. Hopefully the soup was a onetime failure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, OR
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Been back many times and simply love it. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere. Most importantly, consistent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good pizza, loud at night”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The pizza was very good, not mind blowing but good. Salads were ok. Service was friendly and prompt. The seating was community table style and on a Friday night it was loud and hard to have a conversation. Despite all of that we would return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBGraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oven and Shaker also viewed

 

Been to Oven and Shaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing