We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neigborhood, Super Piacci”
Review of Oven and Shaker

Oven and Shaker
Ranked #112 of 4,323 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pearl
Description: Wood-fire Oven + Craft Cocktails in the Pearl.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great neigborhood, Super Piacci”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I ate lunch here this past Monday. We were the second folks seated as it was just past 11:00. We were warmly greeted an drink orders taken. The food order was taken shortly after but there was a lengthy wait for the soup and sandwich orders we made. The special was a piacci (sandwich on ficaccia ) that included lamb meatballs. It was great. My wifr enjoyed her portobella sandwich as well. The mushroom soup was the downfall. The flavor was weak and the soup was floating in a sea of oil. Despite the soup it was an enjoyable time at O and S and we will probably try again. Hopefully the soup was a onetime failure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    85
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, OR
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Been back many times and simply love it. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere. Most importantly, consistent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good pizza, loud at night”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The pizza was very good, not mind blowing but good. Salads were ok. Service was friendly and prompt. The seating was community table style and on a Friday night it was loud and hard to have a conversation. Despite all of that we would return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBGraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“1st time and will be back!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had a lovely little salad and a refreshing cocktail. Really cool vibe and great place to meet for quick drink with friends. We will be back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ugh the music!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely space, great service and good food, but we did not find the music acceptable.
It was so loud and unpleasant, we probably won't return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oven and Shaker also viewed

 

Been to Oven and Shaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing