We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“favorite food cart in Portland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The People's Pig

The People's Pig
Ranked #398 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“favorite food cart in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The "Cuban" is the best sandwich I've had in Portland. It's piled high with pork, pickled onions and peppers and amazing sauce. I think it's $7

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little pig for a big price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

A travel magazine recommended the pork sandwich with arugula and green apples. For $9.00 at a outdoor Pod eatery it was not a bargain by price or taste. Try the Thai place around the corner!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cellofool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pile of Porky Goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

On a chilly Sunday morning this was one of the few food carts open in this downtown pod. I was so glad it was! I had the very delectable and finger licking porchetta sandwich. Juicy. Grilled to perfection. Arugula & a squeeze of lemon were a tart foil to the pork richness. All between a lovely grilled bun. I am developing a jealousy for the residents of Portland who have access to this whenever they like while I must wait for a yearly business trip. Curses!

Helpful?
1 Thank barbasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of my trip to Stumptown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stopped by and grabbed some sandwiches on Friday and then continued to hear my brother talk about how good that sandwich was for the rest of the trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RazorMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A trailer-park pork palace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We usually pass The People's Pig after hours. Today, we went out of our way to stop during business hours.

We had a pork cheesesteak with kale sandwich that made my curly pink tail wiggle!

The proprietor was gentle and kind. The cookspace was clean and presentable. The sandwich was fantastic!

How does it happen that this little town has become a vortex of delectable dining? In Portland, there's a culinary genius on every corner, and The People's Pig is certainly one of those brilliant places!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MakingUpForLostTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The People's Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing