We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to like it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Based on the reviews, I thought we would really like this hotel. It does have a lot going for it -- it's situated in a great neighborhood, which is a nice change from staying downtown or in a convention district. The rooms are well equipped with TVs, dishwashers, coffeemakers, dishes, sofa, etc. But the room was not particularly quiet, and the decor was just too much. As a new hotel, I was surprised how instantly dated the place seemed. Or maybe they were going for a "vintage 1995" look. Staff was indifferent. The free candy was nice, however. I might stay there again, but wouldn't make it my destination.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Krista_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2006

My partner and I enjoyed this stylish, fun hotel which thoroughly exceeded our expectations. Definately one of the most fun hotels / inns that I've ever stayed in. Perfectly located on the trolley line with free parking. Yummy breakfast--- full service suite! Everyone was super friendly and groovy. Great value. A little bit of noise from the trolley passing by, we stayed in a room that faced the parking lot. Two TV's, full service kitchen with separate living room area and desk area. Loved it, will come back again in a heartbeat. We appreciated that they used local products (coffee, ect...)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank schmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We just returned from a two night stay at the Inn @ Northrup Station in Portland OR and had a great visit. The hotel is so nice with wonderful trendy furnishings. Having "real" artwork on the wall was a cool treat. The room itself was very comfortable. We had 2 queen beds, desk, 2 tv's, and a kitchenette----ours was a superior room on the top floor.

They did provide a simple, basic continental breakfast that worked very well for us. The staff at the desk could not have been more helpful. One of the staff even took the time to look up the bus number we needed to catch! Being right at the stop for the trolley was great. You could go anywhere for free within the fareless zone(most of the places tourist want).

I can honestly say that we have nothing negative to say about our stay. It was a blast to stay in such a cool hotel

3  Thank padams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

As a family of five (3 kids under 10 yrs), we loved the Inn. It was a terrific urban setting within walking distance of virtually every type of restaurant, coffee house, dessert spot, etc. one could want. Strolls along 23rd Ave were wonderful (fun boutiques) and the MAX is just outside the door. Washington Park (Zoo, Rose & Japanese Gardens, Children's Museum, & more) is just minutes away by car.

The rooms are spacious and having a kitchen with refrigerator/ plates/utensils/glasses was a big plus (a quick run to Whole Foods in the Pearl took care of all our snack needs) and allowed us to put together impromptu picnics. Breakfast was great -- bagels, muffins, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit -- and the upstairs deck lovely.

The one caveat is that there is not enough parking for all hotel guests -- this was a problem for us on each Fri/Sat night -- had to drive around the neighborhood looking for a place to park. Nonetheless, we will certainly stay again.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank inperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

What a great place to stay! My boyfriend and I recently came to Portland for my sister's wedding and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel she referred us to. Northrup Station is unlike any hotel we've ever stayed at...funky, colorful, trendy, and roomy. Our suite even had a private balcony and a full sized kitchen! It was so cozy, I wished our trip to Portland was longer. I loved that it was non smoking and the location was awesome! The staff was nice, courteous, very knowleadgable of the area and referred us to a great restaurant located just a few blocks away from the hotel. We had a great time and will definately stay here again the next time we come to Portland!
P.S. I caught the bouquet!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123scoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
WA State
120
Reviewed June 18, 2006

20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BuinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $135 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing